Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-12-2014, 12:57 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 68
Upgrading to a larger tank!

So I curently have a 55g reef with 2 clowns, 1 firefish, 1 watchman gobbie, and 1 lyretail anthias! So my question is if I put the water from my current tsnk into the 150g upgraded tank will that be ok for the fish or do I need to put them in my quarentine tank till it cycles again? The current tank has been up for abput 1/2 a year! Thanks.
__________________

__________________
jonny_raff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 02:46 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Bectan01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: melbourne, australia
Posts: 1,930
I would cycle the 150g first if you can - you will need plenty more live rock anyway (or dry, up to you) then you can transfer the stock and any remaining rock. You don't need to keep any old water. How much rock is in the 55? Is it a reef?
__________________

__________________
Bectan01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 08:27 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
navaljonf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 419
You can transfer it right over using the old water. I've done this with no ill effect.
__________________
navaljonf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 01:03 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Macscale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lakewood Ranch, Florida.
Posts: 2,850
Quote:
Originally Posted by navaljonf View Post
You can transfer it right over using the old water. I've done this with no ill effect.

Just the water? The majority of your BB is on rock, not your water column.
__________________
55g Reef Build
Macscale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 01:25 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 68
I have a colony of GSP, frogspawn, birds nest, montipora(plate), kenya tree, and a few mushrooms!
__________________
jonny_raff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 01:55 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bectan01 View Post
I would cycle the 150g first if you can - you will need plenty more live rock anyway (or dry, up to you) then you can transfer the stock and any remaining rock. You don't need to keep any old water. How much rock is in the 55? Is it a reef?
+1 No need to use the old saltwater. You can seed the new tank with some live rocks and sand from old tank. When cycling is complete, you can move all the remaining LR and acclimate live stock to new tank.
__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 02:31 PM   #7
Macro Addict
Community Moderator
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7,533
when I transferred my 37 and 40 to my 90
I filled tank 1/2 way added rock than sand ,I pre soaked the sand to keep sediment down and not cloud tank ,
during this transformation the live stock remained in there tanks as rock was removed
after I filled the tank the rest of the way turned on pumps heater ect and let run about a hour ,than I put all my stock into the tank
even though everything came from mature tanks I added a bottled bacteria
Nutracycle was the name to the tank never seen a spike or swing
__________________
Save
54seaweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 12:11 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
navaljonf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macscale View Post
Just the water? The majority of your BB is on rock, not your water column.

The rocks are implied, OPs question was on the water.

To the OP: Using the old water will save you a few bucks.
__________________
navaljonf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 08:36 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Macscale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lakewood Ranch, Florida.
Posts: 2,850
Quote:
Originally Posted by navaljonf View Post
The rocks are implied, OPs question was on the water.

To the OP: Using the old water will save you a few bucks.

Yeah, but you suggested to use the old water. No reason to do that. You could be introducing excess nitrates and phosphates that the new system doesn't already contain by using the water.
__________________
55g Reef Build
Macscale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 08:58 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I wouldn't worry about using the old water. Accounting for rock and substrate displacement, 30 or so gallons of water isn't going to make much of a difference in a tank 3 times the size. I would do as Bectan01 said, and cycle the bigger tank with all the new rock first though. You are going to want to add another 100 pounds of rock or so. This can make one heck of a spike.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
large, tan, tank, upgrading

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Im upgrading to a larger tank should i keep the same dirt Zinnib123 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 12-05-2013 12:37 PM
Upgrading to a larger tank... blue71 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 12-22-2009 08:14 PM
Upgrading to Larger Tank: Need New Cycle? Legacy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 01-24-2006 11:05 PM
Upgrading to Larger Tank Sprank1 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 09-12-2005 06:16 PM
Upgrading to larger tank msuburg Nano Reefs 7 08-03-2004 08:41 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.