Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-05-2015, 08:31 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
BLUElobster99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 736
Using a pump for water changes

I've read online that someone was using a mag18 pump to siphon water from a bucket into their tank. Is the pump designed to do this or would it fail eventually? I also want it to siphon water out of my mixing barrel and into buckets. Both applications would require the pump to pump water upwards about 4 and a half feet. Is this a bad idea?

Sent from my SM-G900V using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
BLUElobster99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 08:48 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hholly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 3,090
I have a fountain pump with a hose attached that works really well to doa quick water change if I don't want to vacuum the gravel. It fills a 5gallon bucket in about 20 seconds. I just unplug it and raise the pump out of the water when the bucket is full. It would work the other way around too, from bucket to tank.
__________________

__________________
Hholly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 09:11 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
I use a mag 9.5 and have been for a couple years with no failure on the part of the pump.
The pump is made to pump water which is what it does. lol It should be fine and will make water changes soo much easier.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 06:50 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Holygral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Conneaut, Ohio
Posts: 786
I use a Mag 5 to pump my top offs from the basement to the main floor. And with a couple of valves I can pump rodi into a mixing container on the main floor. The with a few more valves, I use suckion and gravity to syphon my water change water into the basement and down the drain.
__________________
Holygral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 09:54 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I use a mag 5 to transfer water TO my system from the mixing barrel, and an Eheim 1262 to send water from the system to the drain. How else would one move a large amount of water.....buckets?
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 04:58 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
BLUElobster99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 736
Does your mixing barrel have wheels? If so where did you get it?

Sent from my SM-G900V using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
BLUElobster99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 08:04 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
No, but they sell wheels for brute trash cans if need be.....


I have a room behind the tank wall where my barrel is always in plain sight and close to the tank. I use 10' hoses to drain and fill.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 10:38 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Maridia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 480
I use an Aquatop 400 series to mix and pump out saltwater from my totes to a Rubbermaid trash can. It already has wheels on it. I use a wooden board to use as ramps to get it from the garage to my living room. I use the same one to pump water into the tank. If your tank is upstairs, then sour about that.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Maridia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 10:41 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
BLUElobster99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 736
Will 1/2 inch tubing work for the mag5?

Sent from my SM-G900V using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
BLUElobster99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 10:58 AM   #10
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
I think it should. Check out their website and see what the dimensions of the return is to be safe.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, change, pump, water, water change, water changes

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Water Changes to water a garden and house plants.. Jferrante Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 01-29-2015 03:21 AM
Using distilled water instead of tap water for water changes. Camogirl28 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 01-04-2014 09:33 AM
changes changes changes Benjithecookiemonster Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 06-17-2008 03:26 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.