Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-17-2005, 10:03 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
Quote:
Man you guys are expensive to listen to.
Actually cheaper in the long run. You can get a RO/DI unit for less than $100 on ebay. http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=65850
Think of the money you will save in additives.
__________________

__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 11:23 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 247
Send a message via AIM to binaryterror
What just came to mind is that our water from our faucet is from a well. Not like an open well, but something like a city well but alot smaller and its like only ours. Is that better than tap water or is that tap water? lol
__________________

__________________
55g main tank
10g sump
ViaAqua SK300 skimmer
40lbs. LR
40lbs. LS
binaryterror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 04:22 AM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
Quote:
Originally Posted by binaryterror
With the garded hose water, what if I let the hose run for like 10 minutes? Try to get everything out of there. I also have hot water that get HOT, and I mean REALLY REALLY hot! Like, I cant even put my hands under it. Maybe that will like burn out whatever is living in there (if anything). Unless cold water is better for killing bacteria and whatnot.
sorry to jump in this late but this needs clarification IMO.. if the plastic is going to leach adding heat will only make it worse..

my oppion about RO/DI.. If I were think about using my tap water first I would get a TDS meter (e-bay $20), a PO4 testkit and test my tapwater.. I am positive that my tapwater would test horribly wrong for mixing up SW from the KH reading alone.. but if you can get a reading of less then 10 ms and test for PO4 with a reading of zero.. and test every time before putting water into the tank and get these readings then I would consider it.. other then that.. A RO/DI unit would be on my shopping list..
PO4=algae
TDS= more and wrong minerals and buffers then you need/want.. there in the artifical SW mix..

btw.. I read the average tap water TDS measurement it 200-300 ms... low TDS tapwater is a extream rarity but is not imposible..

there is always a chance that there could be trace amounts of copper in your tapwater... even a low TDS reading could expose your inverts. to levels of copper that would not be condusive to life.. its just not a good idea to use tapwater in the first place.. the composition of the water can change and you wouldnt know it.. and testing the water for all the harmfull ellements constantly would be more expensive then a RO/DI unit..
as said before, its your tank, good luck..
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 09:55 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: houston,texas
Posts: 238
I filled my 125g tank with the water hose. I let it run for a while out side to clean it out a little. I also never let the nozzle or any part of the hose touch the new (I was afraid it might have a chemical of some kind on it) water. When the water level got high enough in the tank I held it above the tank until it was full. My tank has cycled and I now have 4 fish that have been in there a week. So far no problems
__________________
tmkx3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 10:43 AM   #25
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
th eissue with most garden hoses is the common additive of antibacterial/anti-fungal chemicals added to the hoses to keep them from having things grow in them. You ever drink from a garden hose? Notice how it has a unique taste? thats the antifungals working. I would not reccomend using garden hose for any aquarium other than syphoning out of the tank to the drain


I'll also add to the "do yourself a favor and get an RO/DI unit" list. To expand alittle on brendan's "start clean stay clean" your LR and LS will do the same thing as you other chemical media you might use to remove the impurities from adding tap water. This will eventually build up over time. Also, if you are on a municiple water supply, whats actually in it can fluctuate depending on where your supplier gets their water from, the weather etc. In my city we receive and anual report of water quality tests, etc and the numbers are never the same. If i'm plunking down hundreds of dollars every year in food, salt, test kits, lights bulbs, etc.. if I can plop down $100 once and remove one more variable from the system that helps keep the tank healthy, i'm all over it!


as for "getting enough to fill the tank", binaryterror, i and a number of others have gone to walmart/homedepot/whatever and purchased a cheap rubbermaid storage bin and use that exclusivly for storing RO water for changes/top offs. just keep it covered and out of direct light and you can keep it for quite a while.
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 10:56 AM   #26
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Salttanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, TX.
Posts: 1,297
Quote:
Man you guys are expensive to listen to
The part that gets expensive is when you spend a bunch of money on corals and fish, then down the road they die as the result of impure water. Some people on here have thousands invested in corals and fish, so $100 to keep them healthy is not asking for much.
I have been there. I personally used tap water a while back before getting an RO/DI unit. The problem with my tap is it poor in quality. As a result, I could never get rid of the diatoms, even after months of being setup. Once I switched to RO/DI, the diatoms eventually went away. I would have your water tested in any event.

Mike
__________________
Salttanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 11:33 AM   #27
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 247
Send a message via AIM to binaryterror
My mom told me that our tap water is softened. Does that make a difference or no?
__________________
55g main tank
10g sump
ViaAqua SK300 skimmer
40lbs. LR
40lbs. LS
binaryterror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 11:45 AM   #28
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,111
I initially setup my tank using tap water. Ran it that way for 3 or 4 months with no difficulties. "They" (now we, lol) couldn't convince me either, lol. We ended up getting an RO/DI unit shortly after that and haven't put a drop of tap into the system ever since. My tap water checks out at a TDS of around 300, if I'm not mistaken. That's an awful lot of gunk in my water that the fish shouldn't be consuming.

Is it an absolute necessity? No. Are you likely to introduce problems that you don't need to deal with? Yes. Ya wanna take that chance? Hmm. Only you know the answer.

My LFS sells RO/DI water at .50c a g. and the filter direct unit that I purchased was only 100$ on ebay. Not a bad deal, really.

A garden hose is a really really bad idea. As stated they frequently contain pesticides, antifungals or other chemicals. Not something you want to start a SW tank with. We purchased tubing at Home Depot, I think. Get a ton of it. It makes moving water around the house a breeze!
__________________
Phyllis

Join the NJ Reef Club Today! Saving the world's reefs one living room at a time!
MACNA XXI Atlantic City, NJ September 25-27, 2009
Phyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 12:07 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Salttanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, TX.
Posts: 1,297
I guess I look at it as a hobby that costs several thousands over time, so $100 for an RO/DI system is minute and a better way to control what goes in the water. Some will insist on using tap water, which may work for some, but in reality it can create more problems down the road for others.
I learned a long time ago that you can't skimp on quality in this hobby if you want to do it successfully. I didn't spend $3,500 on my setup just to skimp on a $100 RO/DI system. it makes no sense.
This board was created to help educate those that are interested in setting up and maintaining a SW aquarium. However, we can give them opinions and state facts all day long, but they will ultimately decide on what they think is best. :|

Mike


Mike
__________________
Salttanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2005, 01:34 AM   #30
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 113
Good point, the advice has hit home and is well taken. I hope that you guys realize how much it's appreciated that you all take so much time to explain things, probably not for the first time, to those of us starting out. I am extremely grateful.

I'll be on the lookout for a unit online, hopefully I can understand more about them shortly. I have plans on having a reef tank with lots of corals, anenomes, and inverts...so I'm aware that my water quality has to be pristine. If you guys come across a model that you'd recommend, please feel free to let me know.

And what on earth are diatoms?
__________________

__________________
Nøjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, freshwater, reef, reef tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[B]Can you cycle the tank freshwater then add the salt?[/B] InfernoST Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 28 06-06-2009 05:02 PM
How often can I add Aqua-Cycle in Freshwater tank? masai_chadi Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 10-24-2007 02:23 AM
Fishless cycle for freshwater tank? Kari Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 05-10-2005 03:47 PM
100gal freshwater into a reef tank blcmounthood Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 06-14-2004 11:53 PM
Cycle a salt tank with freshwater materials? CatfishFanatic Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 08-30-2002 08:28 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.