Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-02-2004, 05:27 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: California
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to heerism
Using my 10 gallon aquarium for a sump

I want to use my 10 gallon aquarium as my sump for my 40 gallon sw tank, is this a good idea?
__________________

__________________
heerism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 07:23 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cochranville PA
Posts: 698
it is a decent size. if it is an old tank clean it out well.
__________________

__________________
A lot of ripples make a wave
darb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 11:33 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 78
how would you go about turning a tank into a sump. (future reference)
__________________
noone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2004, 01:15 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Quote:
how would you go about turning a tank into a sump. (future reference)
Have the main tank drain into the 10 gal and then put a pump in the 10 gal to feed the water back into the main tank. Now it is a sump

You could add a skimmer or other equipment but you don't have too.
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2004, 01:04 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: la florida
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to swiftwing7
what do you put in the sump filters lr etc? also could you have a fuge in the sump or would you have to have another seperate tank for that?
__________________
swiftwing7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2004, 01:17 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
correct me if i'm wrong, but I think a fuge IS a sump, with all the wildlife added to make it a fuge.
__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2004, 02:11 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: la florida
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to swiftwing7
just wanted to know if you could do both of them together
__________________
swiftwing7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2004, 04:10 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Northern Va
Posts: 478
Yes, you could partition a section of the sump to become the fuge. Do a search on "sump" and you will get a ton of info.
__________________
TygGer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2004, 04:25 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
WE have a good article on sumps in the article area. A fuge is simply an aquarium thats dedicated to a specific purpose. Be that growing macro algae, or other wildlife. With a sump the size of 10 gal I would really shy away from making a part of that a refuge. You will be much beter served having a 5 or 10 gal refuge and a 10 gal sump.

Your sump can be as complex (with dividers and seperate sections) or as simple (just a box with water going in and out) as you want/need it to be.
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
10 gallon, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30 gallon sump in under a 72 gallon bowfront thebradybunch Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 01-04-2008 10:48 PM
All-Glass Aquarium model 4 sump + protein skimmer? pinkie General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 01-13-2007 12:33 AM
10 gallon sump? aryiman Nano Reefs 6 11-21-2005 05:59 PM
10 gallon sump on 55 gallon tank... bsparks General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 11-15-2004 07:04 PM
10 gallon sump? first-timer89 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 10-18-2004 12:02 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.