Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-25-2012, 11:38 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Keithhjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,673
Using old skeleton coral

I have some large pieces of old coral I had in a tank about 10 years ago. They are nice for aquascaping but have old coraline algae dried on them and when you move it it does drop little pieces of dust and coral. Is this safe to put in an established tank? Should I soak it for an extended time, or wash with vinegar, etc? Any helpful hints are appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4167066479.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	153.1 KB
ID:	108931   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-230927180.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	173.8 KB
ID:	108932  

__________________

__________________
Keithhjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 12:26 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Keithhjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,673
Anybody have suggestions?
__________________

__________________
Keithhjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 12:34 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
I just rinse and add. Here is one of my tanks exculusively skeletons
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 12:37 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Keithhjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,673
Does it matter that the piece was once like live rock with organisms all over it and now had sat dry in a box outside for 10 years?
__________________
Keithhjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 12:39 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
Not if you rinse all the debris off. Even if you didn't it really wouldn't be a very big deal just added ammonia to your cycle and more particles to filter out
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 12:59 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Keithhjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,673
I was worried that maybe the ammonia spike might harm my fish, inverts, and corals. I am installing a second protein skimmer in the next few days. Maybe I will rinse & soak, final wash it in tank water and the try adding it down the road.
__________________
Keithhjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 01:01 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
Yes rinse well when adding with livestock
__________________

__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
coral

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.