Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-20-2005, 04:26 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 692
Send a message via Yahoo to PBirdsong
Yeah, I use a sump for my freshwater tank. But you guys gave some great explanations. The photo doesn't look as confusing anymore.

I had the photo up while I read your responses.
__________________

__________________
--Pete--
PBirdsong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2005, 04:38 PM   #22
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
LOL, I think of this as a simple setup now. There are some a lot more complex than mine. I miss the non-sump days... sometimes
__________________

__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2005, 04:49 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 692
Send a message via Yahoo to PBirdsong
I guess it's just a sump with a few champers added on.

The thing I really like about using sump is that you can link several tanks into one system. Instant Cycle! Of course there are major draw backs to that too. If one tank picks up ich, then they all will.
I have a ten gallon sump running right anout and I am thinking about added another. I want to force my water through one 10 gal, loaded with plants, before it gets to the other where it is strained and pumped back up.
__________________
--Pete--
PBirdsong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2005, 11:46 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Debary, Florida
Posts: 512
That is a heck of a setup, Ellis.
__________________
AndyH5512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2005, 12:13 PM   #25
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Thanks. It is hard to imagine but about 3 yrs ago I have a 38 gal FO tank with no sump It happens fast if your not careful, LOL.
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 03:23 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Debary, Florida
Posts: 512
I know what you mean!!!
__________________

__________________
AndyH5512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AP test tubs Dominick Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 10-11-2006 02:03 AM
Are Rubbermaid Tubs OK for a QT? spinman Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 9 09-15-2005 12:00 PM
sealing fibreglass tubs. DeFeKt Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 06-12-2005 10:27 PM
How to light/heat the big plastic tubs? dsmalls Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 07-16-2004 11:59 PM
Best solution to clean tubs? Mach Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 02-13-2004 08:58 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.