Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-22-2014, 03:48 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
AquaTricia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 540
Vacuum sump?

Hi guys! It has been 2years since I set up my reef tank. As usual with a reef, I've had my ups and downs. I thought I was over the crazy algae thing, but in the last few months I've had red turf, GHA, and now a bit of red cyano. We used to vacuum out the sump once a month, but now I have "baby" brittle stars in there and I know they're good for the tank. Should I still vacuum?


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
People who say that pets lower their blood pressure never had a reef tank!
AquaTricia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 05:15 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
How bad is it in there? Are you catching stuff with filter socks? If there's nothing before the sump, then the odds are it's loaded with gunk and will need to be vacuumed. Yes, you'll kill off a lot of life.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 05:26 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
AquaTricia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 540
I don't use filter socks. The tank is a JBJ 28 gallon cube. There is a lot back there, including life that will be a shame to kill. I just need to get the tank a little more stable and get rid of the cyano. It's not much, but vacuuming gives me a chance to clean it up a little more. Just wondering if it was appropriate to do it. I've been vacuuming the sand a tiny bit at a time to get rid of it, but over two years of siphoning occasionally, my 3" sand bed is less than 1". I have some aragonite that I need to rinse to bring the bed back up. I have three Nass snails in there and they're trying to keep covered. Not sure I can figure how to get it in there in the nooks and crannies without starting a sandstorm. But I guess the first thing I need to do is clean that sump. Thanks for replying.


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
People who say that pets lower their blood pressure never had a reef tank!
AquaTricia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 06:34 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
You need to increase flow in the tank if you are getting a lot of detritus build up on the sand bed. Nassarius snails aren't going to help with that. They are carnivores. I've never seen them eat a piece of fish poop.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 07:12 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
AquaTricia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 540
I have two Koralia 425's, but apparently the way I aqua scaped the tank 2 years ago, I can't get flow in all areas. Boy, would I have done things differently if I knew what I do now. (Ever heard that one?). I move the powerheads all over. I also have pumps at 266 gph, hooked to a wave maker, but have both going at the same time now to increase flow. And I knew Nass snails wouldn't eat poop, just dead stuff and food I put in there. They always come up for that.


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
People who say that pets lower their blood pressure never had a reef tank!
AquaTricia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 05:58 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
AquaTricia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 540
Is it ok to put thoroughly rinsed aragonite sand on top of sand that has been in there for 2 years in order to raise the sand bed? If so, the best way to do it? Thanks!


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
People who say that pets lower their blood pressure never had a reef tank!
AquaTricia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2014, 06:06 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
AquaTricia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 540
Can someone help?


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
People who say that pets lower their blood pressure never had a reef tank!
AquaTricia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 10:12 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
AquaTricia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 540
I got a text that said Mr.X had responded, but I see no recent response. Maybe I don't understand how this all works. Educate me, please?


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
People who say that pets lower their blood pressure never had a reef tank!
AquaTricia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 01:50 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Animal-Chin's Avatar

Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,315
Well if you vacume the sand you could add it when your doing water changes so it mixes in. If its real clean that should be fine. To add sand you can use a peice of pvc pipe that you put down to the sand line and then add it htough the other end. If you just dump it in it will make a mess.

I'd do a little at a time. Like I dont know, half a cup a week and mix it in.

For the sump, if you see gunk I'd vacume it out. Do you have a wet/dry shop vac? Use that and then add new water...

Just some tips I guess.
__________________
Animal-Chin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 01:59 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
AquaTricia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 540
Animal-chin, your suggestions are well taken. I had planned to vacuum the sump today per Mr.X. I will also take your suggestion on how to put sand in. I wouldn't even do that, but my Nass snails are having trouble staying under it because I've siphoned so much off in two years getting rid of problems (cyano). Thanks for responding.


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
People who say that pets lower their blood pressure never had a reef tank!
AquaTricia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gravel vacuum, or no gravel vacuum? Goldfish loach boy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 23 06-03-2013 08:53 AM
to vacuum or not to vacuum justin_tyme Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 11-17-2003 12:33 PM
Sleeper Goby Starved After Vacuum CP_ThunderGod Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 08-21-2003 07:53 PM
to vacuum or not to vacuum? lilismom1 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 08-11-2003 06:56 PM
Gravel Vacuum Use Susanne Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 10-07-2002 12:15 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.