Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-08-2006, 07:04 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 385
Vacuuming, Anyone do it?

Just like the title says,does anyone vacuum the substrate on your tanks to remove some of the ditrius (sp)? or is this a bad thing.
__________________

__________________
reefbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2006, 07:50 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
I have LS substrate in my tanks so I do not. If you use CC, however, vacuuming is a good maintanance practice.
__________________

__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2006, 09:19 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 282
That's what I've always done, is there something wrong with that? Sorry for no answer.
__________________
-A real hobby
EELectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2006, 09:39 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Posts: 801
Send a message via AIM to FishFrik
If u have DSB, disturbing the bottom layer will release bad gases into the water. That's what i've read
__________________
I'm one of those fishnutz, who are actually nutz.
FishFrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2006, 10:49 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 282
But what I am ment was just the very top layer of the sand bed and if anyone knows why this would hurt your tank please tell us. HTH
__________________
-A real hobby
EELectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 12:51 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,544
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
I vaccum the top layer of my sand bed and have been for 3 years now with no ill effects. It gets some of the junk out of there.
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 01:12 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: vancouver island
Posts: 526
I've debated doing it. I only have a 1" to 1.5" sand depth, but I still have been leary. I think I'm gonna start. It looks much better.
__________________
ryguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 08:17 AM   #8
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Thast`s what the clean up crew is for. My Gobies take care of the sand for me
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 09:24 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 385
I have Aragonite for my substrate and numerous snails for the task but, when I was doing a water change I hit the bed with the hose and all this junk came out into the bucket so it had me thinking do I or don't I.
__________________
reefbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 09:35 AM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Quote:
If you use CC, however, vacuuming is a good maintanance practice.
Agreed
I did when I had CC, and didn't have any problems. It was just a pain. THe CC would look really dirty.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Substrate Vacuuming? bj5z25 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 07-09-2005 06:08 PM
Vacuuming dr.diggler Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 06-30-2004 12:18 AM
Vacuuming Sand Gauge Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 01-16-2004 12:53 AM
Vacuuming gravel captainGregor Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 17 11-11-2003 01:18 PM
Vacuuming during cycle? Todd2 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 10-16-2003 01:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.