Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-06-2012, 10:56 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Marquis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 309
voltage stray

is stray voltage a super bad thing what's a cheap easy way to ground my tank ?
__________________

__________________
Marquis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 11:10 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Yes, and a grounding probe.
Coralife Titanium Ground Probe (Removes Stray Voltage)
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 11:37 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Marquis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 309
does every tank have a small amount of stray voltage? and can't i make a ground probe ?
__________________
Marquis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 11:38 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
No. Every tank doesn't have stray voltage, but these hobby grade components aren't to be trusted. I don't know if you can make one. Can you?
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 11:44 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Marquis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X
No. Every tank doesn't have stray voltage, but these hobby grade components aren't to be trusted. I don't know if you can make one. Can you?
im always looking for cheaper ways to do things I'll look around im sure its possible to make my tank has got some noticeable voltage stray and i want to get rid of it asap
__________________
Marquis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 07:38 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mpfaff77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 380
I was talking about this in another thread and I forget the members name but he is an electrician and he disagrees with a grounding probe since it will give the voltage a path and will essentially electrocute your fish. He recommends a gfci outlet to protect tank. Any change in voltage the circuit will trip. Although you will loose power to the circuit.
__________________
Mpfaff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 08:03 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 865
voltage stray

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mpfaff77 View Post
I was talking about this in another thread and I forget the members name but he is an electrician and he disagrees with a grounding probe since it will give the voltage a path and will essentially electrocute your fish. He recommends a gfci outlet to protect tank. Any change in voltage the circuit will trip. Although you will loose power to the circuit.
If you use one of those gfci outlet and the circuit trips what happens to the occupants in the tank when it trips and you are not there to switch it back?
__________________
mwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 08:08 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Marquis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwilliams

If you use one of those gfci outlet and the circuit trips what happens to the occupants in the tank when it trips and you are not there to switch it back?
they are on their own... still an issue i need to solve
__________________
Marquis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 08:09 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mpfaff77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwilliams

If you use one of those gfci outlet and the circuit trips what happens to the occupants in the tank when it trips and you are not there to switch it back?
This is my dilemma. Thought about protected single outlets with gfi and plug heater in and powerheads. Equipment most likely to fail. I am also getting a aqua controller that would email if power is lost. I bought a single gfi today but I am afraid to set it up so the whole tank room is connected to it. Leaving as is until I find best solution. I do not have any stray voltage now. Just trying to get as many failsafes in as possible.
__________________
Mpfaff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 08:11 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
IMO a small stray electrical leak will be harm full to your system and may not trip a GFI.
__________________

__________________
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stray Blenny questions CleverBs Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 02-18-2012 12:08 PM
Help with voltage meter leftyfish Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 43 06-08-2011 06:24 PM
stray voltage help Bige Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 04-28-2011 01:45 AM
Stray voltage??? MarkA123 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 08-12-2010 12:55 AM
voltage leak brianf40us General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 14 12-10-2008 11:57 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.