Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-16-2013, 11:40 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Bulldog5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Long Island
Posts: 24
Want to do a HOB refug on my sump to start my pods

Want to do a HOB refug on my sump to start my pods. Is this a good to start and to maintain a good pod population? Not going to start it till my tank had been going for 6 months or more. I'm playing on getting the biggest refug that can fit on my sump saw one like 24" long
__________________

__________________
Bulldog5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 04:33 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
jgraz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Bordentown, NJ
Posts: 242
First, I guess you sump does not have a refugium section? If it does then don't bother with the HOB.

Second, why wait 6 months? Fire that thing up now and get a population going.
__________________

__________________
jgraz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 05:12 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Bulldog5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Long Island
Posts: 24
Still in planning stage. Yea sump is a big plastic tub with external pump that's y the HOB . Ok cool so just let it cycle with the tank then?
__________________
Bulldog5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 07:20 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bulldog5 View Post
Still in planning stage. Yea sump is a big plastic tub with external pump that's y the HOB . Ok cool so just let it cycle with the tank then?
You can. Just don't plan on adding any macro algae for a while.
__________________
Dav3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 08:23 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Bulldog5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Long Island
Posts: 24
Thanks! What's the best thing to have in it to house pods I was going to go with rubble and some cheto. Some one also told me to,use that mud stuff. I really new to this hole refugium thing.
__________________
Bulldog5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 08:35 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bulldog5 View Post
Thanks! What's the best thing to have in it to house pods I was going to go with rubble and some cheto. Some one also told me to,use that mud stuff. I really new to this hole refugium thing.
What are you using for the hob fuge? I would not use mud.
__________________
Dav3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 08:44 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Bulldog5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Long Island
Posts: 24
I'm looking around right now to find the biggest one that can fit on my sump. My wife want to get a mandarin so mainly to have a lovely place for pods to live and also to help out any it can to help my tank run right. I've read a good refugium can also help with doing less maintenance. So I'm not sure on what to have in it to help in these ways. Also wanted to run opposite my tank lights. Don't really want it going 24/7. So any help u can give would be great. Thank u very much
__________________
Bulldog5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 09:00 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
What size tank are you planning?
__________________
Dav3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 11:50 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Bulldog5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Long Island
Posts: 24
I got a 79 bow and I'm planning on a easy reef with a had full of fish, as I understand it more get into hard corals. Im still going over types of corals would be good not too sure witch route yet. Any info u can give I would love to have. Still not sure how much rock I'm going to do 1.5 or 2 per gallon. Only thing I am sure is that I'm going all dry rock cause I don't want any one there I don't want
__________________
Bulldog5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 12:37 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
Well some say bare minimum to keep a mandarin is 75 lbs of rock. I'm not sure if that is on a diet of strictly pods or both pods and prepared foods . Even with a fuge I would not attempt one with under 100 lbs. and even at that I would wait a year till your tank is well established and pods are self sustaining.
__________________

__________________
Dav3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me with my sump for 40g Reef CleverBs Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 11-17-2012 11:39 AM
Help with protein skimmer in sump protokix22 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 12-06-2011 04:36 PM
Pods in sump? Mudzie Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 11-19-2011 09:10 AM
Starting a sump? 2g2ner Saltwater Reef Aquaria 17 07-24-2011 06:04 PM
Wanting to start an aquarium Mare_226 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 07-02-2011 08:27 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.