Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-26-2012, 10:01 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Water Chemistry Questions

70 gallon cylindrical tank
2 clowns
2 goby's
1 med yellow tang

Live rock
Sump by my reef creations
Protein skimmer


Problem:

Ammonia 0
Nitrates 0
Nitrites 0
Calcium HIGH off the charts
Phosphates 143.2 also HIGH


I have taken out 15 gallons every two weeks using RO water. I do not add trace elements, only the salt mix. Lights are turned off and on each day by hand because the timer that they have never works right and was always on. Its in a dental office and they are not there on weekends so they fend for themselves.

Question:

Is it ok for the calcium to be high?

How does one lower phosphates?
__________________

__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 10:07 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
Calcium is ok high but can begin to precipitate once you reach 600+ ppm but for phosphates the reccomended level for a reef tank is .02 or lower. I don't know if you have any corals but a level as high as yours and I imagine you are having one Hell of a battle with algae. The best way to remove phosphates is through water changes and/or a reactor with gfo or some type of phosphate remover like phosban or phosguard.
__________________

__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 10:30 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrc8858
Calcium is ok high but can begin to precipitate once you reach 600+ ppm but for phosphates the reccomended level for a reef tank is .02 or lower. I don't know if you have any corals but a level as high as yours and I imagine you are having one Hell of a battle with algae. The best way to remove phosphates is through water changes and/or a reactor with gfo or some type of phosphate remover like phosban or phosguard.
Just live rock with **** loads of coralline algae. No bad algae problems. I noticed they had a bottle of CA so I believe they were dosing the tank.

I will try the phosphate remover.
__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 10:50 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
MikeYQM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 489
Just a wild guess, but I would assume your po4 test is faulty.
__________________
MikeYQM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 11:08 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeYQM
Just a wild guess, but I would assume your po4 test is faulty.
I followed the directions to a T
__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 11:13 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
uh.oh...'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Brevard, North Carolina
Posts: 418
Test kits do go bad. The chemicals expire, and depending on how long they've sat on the shelf in the lfs sometimes they start off bad
__________________
See My Tanks Here
I have found the best way to cycle your tank! Want to know how? Pee in it. Build thread: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-141081-3.html Scientific Reading: Reefkeeping
uh.oh... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 11:14 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
uh.oh...'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Brevard, North Carolina
Posts: 418
And what test kit did you use?
__________________
See My Tanks Here
I have found the best way to cycle your tank! Want to know how? Pee in it. Build thread: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-141081-3.html Scientific Reading: Reefkeeping
uh.oh... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 11:47 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 51
How long have u been having phosphates at 143?
__________________
ganiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 12:05 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
143ppm? Im confused, first off most test kits dont go over 5ppm. Please if you could clarify this reading it would be great. That much phosphate seems detrimental to a reef tank. Running GFO immediately would be a good idea.
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 05:00 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by uh.oh...
Test kits do go bad. The chemicals expire, and depending on how long they've sat on the shelf in the lfs sometimes they start off bad
Brand new kit, API master, they have been this high for 2 weeks
__________________

__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chemi, chemistry, water chemistry

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.