Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 03-04-2013, 01:01 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

Water not crystal clear =(

Hello everyone, I'm still new to this hobby and this is my first reef tank so I'm not sure how long some things take. My tank has been running for a month and one week and from my understanding I'm done or in the very last stages of cycling. My question here is that I find a slight haze in my water and I don't know why. Is it too early to worry about this? I mean the water is clear but not crystal clear. The tank is 4 feet long and if you view it from side to side you can really notice the haze. I'm running an mp40 and I have Fiji pink sand, could this be the cause? Maybe dust from the sand? I know I don't need to be running the mp40 now since I don't have livestock but I thought it would be better to have the circulation. I read that running carbon could help but I also read it could be bad for sps in the future... I'm open to any suggestions, thanks in advanced

Old 03-04-2013, 01:37 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist

I had an alge problem and that milky cloudy you see I had also bought a 40 uv sterlizer for my tank and omg a week later is crystal clear though you may need to look into it it's more then likely a high nutrient or something get a test kit but my uv did wonders

Old 03-04-2013, 01:48 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamroz37 View Post
I had an alge problem and that milky cloudy you see I had also bought a 40 uv sterlizer for my tank and omg a week later is crystal clear though you may need to look into it it's more then likely a high nutrient or something get a test kit but my uv did wonders