Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-30-2003, 04:51 PM   #11
DHS
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 49
Send a message via AIM to DHS
Well the money is of little difference I also looked at the difference in outlet. The Mag7 only gives a 0.5" outlet where as the Rio give a 0.75" outlet. Now that may not sound like a big diffence to some but to me that makes a big difference since I need the outlet to be hooked up to a 1" tube to set up my flow box (old power filter with the motor removed). And as for the long run....I only need it to get me through 2 years with my 40 gal tank till I get my house and get to install a 200+ gal tank with all the bells and whistles...heehee

PEACE,
DHS
__________________

__________________
Insanity is its own reward
DHS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2003, 11:02 PM   #12
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
Well...it's your choice of course. All I can say is that it's about as easy to go from 1/2" to 1" as it is to go from 3/4" to 1". I've just heard too many bad things about the Rios I guess.
Logan J
__________________

__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2003, 11:26 PM   #13
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Rio has an out let of 1/2" as well, Rio also has the largest catastrophic fail rate of any submersible on the market. Mag 7 will overtake the rio in flow as the head pressure builds, mag 7 will pump to a higher head pressure than rio will. All that said, I knnow lots of people that have had good luck with rios, but more that have had bad luck.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2003, 11:58 PM   #14
AA Team Emeritus
 
michealprater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Highland , IL
Posts: 2,311
Send a message via Yahoo to michealprater
Personally, Every Rio pump I have ever had has burned up. Thats just my personal experience. I would just feel bad if I didnt warn someone about them.
__________________
michealprater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2003, 09:44 AM   #15
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 1,022
Send a message via AIM to Anemoneman Send a message via Yahoo to Anemoneman
Quote:
I'm going to get the Rio 2500 instead of a Mag7. Not only does it get better flow rate for the same amount of watts, but its also $15 cheaper
I hope I post this in time. You don't want a RIO as your main pump! To put is as tactfully as I can - RIO pumps suck. You get what you pay for with these. There's a reason they're cheaper. They are noisy, fail to restart after a power out, retain air (cavitate). The Mag7 is a quality unit. Very high output and quiet. It can be used external or submerged.
If you really want a RIO, use it for water circulation only. That way when it quits it won'thurt anything. And when it doesn't want to restart after cleaning, you aren't depending on it.
__________________
Mark
Anemoneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2003, 03:36 PM   #16
DHS
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 49
Send a message via AIM to DHS
Ok guys I get the picture...no RIO, and since the tax man comith I can get the Mag 7 with no problems...(hmmm may get the Mag 9.5 ). Though one question comes to mind...if any "bugs" get sucked up through the mag how badly will they get chopped up ?!? I'm hopeing to hear the answer of None/Very Little.

Peace,
DHS
__________________
Insanity is its own reward
DHS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2003, 05:54 PM   #17
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Mag pumps come with a foam prefilter, if your willing to clean it often, no bugs will get sucked up. If you don't use the prefilter...they will get chopped up no worse than other pumps. I suspect quite a bit of pods make it though the pumps and plumbing, just fine.
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
watts

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water pressure to RO/DI unit natman2 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 02-20-2006 04:00 PM
Python water pressure severum mama Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 15 01-01-2005 05:58 PM
Barracuda Water Pressure Bearfan General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 05-08-2004 11:02 PM
Need to find a pump to increase water pressure fishfreek Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 03-02-2003 09:52 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.