Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-20-2012, 02:10 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 258
I recently bought my own RO/DI system, so I can stop making those annoying trips to the store for water.

Water tests out ok. No phosphates, no ammonia, and 0 TDS. However, I did a pwc of about 9 gallons last week before i went out of the country and the wife has been using the new RO/DI water for tops off and notice that I'm getting green Algae on the glass a heck of a lot quicker then I normally do? Any ideas?

Now I did go out of town for a week and just cleaned the glass of the algae on tussah evening....by tonight I had to wipe it again?

Anyone think it has anything to do with the water or maybe it's just time to change the chemi-pure elite?? It's been about 9 weeks since I put that in.

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Tmyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 02:43 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
AquaRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 2,638
First off, what are your water parameters? I doubt the rodi water is causing the algae issues. IME chemi-pure lasts about 2 months.
__________________

__________________
225G Reef Upgrade
AquaRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 09:21 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 258
Water parameters are as follows:

1.024 sal
Trates 5
Trites. 0
Ammonia 0
Ph 8.2
Temp 79
Phosphates .25

I'm thinking you might be right about the chemi pure elite bc it's been just over 2 months and now I'm getting phosphate readings.

I feed mysis every other day with algae sheets on off days, so I don't feed much.
__________________
Tmyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 08:07 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mpfaff77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 380
If you run your RO DI all the time and it is using auto shut off it may be "TDS creep". Look into that. It may happen even if system shut Off too. When I first turn on my system I run good water into drain for few min. I watch my tds and it jumps Upto 20 or 30 sometimes. After few min if is back down to 2 or 3ppm.
__________________
Mpfaff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 10:35 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kay-bee19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mpfaff77 View Post
...I watch my tds and it jumps Upto 20 or 30 sometimes. After few min if is back down to 2 or 3ppm.
Is that elevated TDS-reading after the membrane or after the DI-stage?
__________________
Rift Lake and Reef tanks.
kay-bee19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 10:38 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mpfaff77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by kay-bee19

Is that elevated TDS-reading after the membrane or after the DI-stage?
It is after the membrane. RO water only. DI should always read 0. If it doesn't then DI canister should be replaced. If RO had high tds it will kill your DI a lot faster.
__________________
Mpfaff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 06:48 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mpfaff77
If you run your RO DI all the time and it is using auto shut off it may be "TDS creep". Look into that. It may happen even if system shut Off too. When I first turn on my system I run good water into drain for few min. I watch my tds and it jumps Upto 20 or 30 sometimes. After few min if is back down to 2 or 3ppm.
Thanks for the suggestion buddy. I'll check my TDS meter tonight when I run it for my 10g weekly pwc.

I hope that's not the case since this 6stage unit is literally 1.5 weeks old!

I've ordered more chemi pure elite so I should have that next week to swap that out. I really think thats the issue. Hope anyway
__________________
Tmyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 06:54 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mpfaff77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 380
It had nothing to do with age of filters or unit. When pressure builds the nutrients can build and when turn on system and lets out first burst of water it can have excess tds. Nothing to do with bad system or age of system. Everyone can have tds creep. Google it.
__________________

__________________
Mpfaff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Green Spotted Puffer Profile Terrance Freshwater & Brackish - Fish or Plant Profiles 2 12-31-2012 12:30 PM
New tank, water Ph question Snowinak Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 01-13-2012 01:03 AM
Water question convict kid 24 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 12-07-2011 01:31 PM
RO/Di Water Question gerridee Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 09-22-2011 08:41 AM
Anyone use pure distilled/RO water? If so, steps on prepping please! librarygirl Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 09-18-2011 02:28 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.