Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-31-2010, 09:37 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Water Temp Question/Concern

Hi all.

I am new to my saltwater tank, only a month in. I live in NJ and yesterday it got up to the 80's with a cool breeze. My house got around 81 degrees but it was still pleasent and comfortable.

I noticed my tank temp got to 86 degrees! Of course I paniced and we left the lid open, put the cooling fan on but none of these things helped. We put the air conditioning on at night and now the water temp is between 78-80 degrees.

We normally run the air in the summer but not everyday. When there is a breeze we don't run i.
  • Can the fish tollerabe 84-86 degrees? (for how long?)
  • Do I need a chiller in these short circumstances?
  • Is this normal?
Thanks and Happy Memorial Day!

Old 05-31-2010, 10:16 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus

86 is about the uper range for fish and only for short periods. Temperature swings are the problem. You really want the tank to maintain a stable termperature (within 2 degrees).

I noticed you said you opened the lid. Do you have a glass cover on the tank? Removing it will help keep the pH stable as well as the tank temp. You should remove it. If you have jumpers consider using a screen material, or some netting.

Normally a fan blowing across the top can reduce the temp a couple of degrees.

I'm trying to understand why the tank would rise above the house temperature. That only makes sense with a glass top and submersible pumps that would heat the water.