Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 06-26-2004, 12:23 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

waterflow

Newbie here!

I have a small 17 gallon tank - 14"x12"x18" (width x depth x height). It's been running for three months now. All I have now is a damsel and I just recently added a cup (should've researched and planned it out before purchasing).

I'm hoping to make this into a mini-reefer.

How does one determine the correct waterflow. Also, what direction? My LFS told me to point the powerhead so that the flow disturbs the surface of the water.

I have two RIO 180 powerheads running (with the waterflow turned down because I don't want a cyclone in my tank)

I plan on purchasing some Key rock from liverock.com, also.

Btw, are those microbubbles acceptable? Is there a way to get rid of them or are microbubbles a good thing?

Thanks everyone!

p.s. this site is awesome! i'm learning so much!

Old 06-26-2004, 12:24 AM   #2

p.p.s. I also have a SeaClone 100 protein skimmer running and a little fan running to keep the heat in check (i love my $20 fan! it saved me from spending $$$ on a chiller!)

Old 06-26-2004, 01:25 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus

Micro bubbles are not a good thing, how to get rid of them would largely depend on what's causing them.

Turn the power back up on the powerheads, you do want a cyclone in that tank, and you cannot come close to the amount of flow the corals and fish are subjected to in the ocean. I would point them at the front glass angled towards the center, and put them on a wave timer, I would probably also add another powerhead.

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2004, 02:10 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

Send a message via AIM to WarOrks15 Send a message via MSN to WarOrks15