Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-23-2006, 10:53 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 282
Wavemaker uses?

I am thinking about purchasing a Red Sea wavemaker and there are a couple questions I have. Do I need a sump? How do they work, do you plug the powerheads into a plug and it alternates. I'm just not sure so I wanted to ask people who have had one. Sorry for the noob questions.
Heres the one I'm talking about:http://www.marinedepot.com/md_viewIt...Product=RS3611
__________________

__________________
-A real hobby
EELectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2006, 01:03 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: arizona
Posts: 517
I'm not sure either, but i think that the wavemaker is like a surge protector type thing where its got like 4 diff. plug outlets on it...you plug in your powerheads and whatnot to it, and each individual outlet on it goes on and off based on a timer, thus making the powerhead to go on and off, making the flow not a constant one...

i might be completely off here, so i'd wait for someone else, but i think i saw somewehr thats how they work.
__________________

__________________
sir_dudeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2006, 01:30 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: vancouver island
Posts: 526
there are several different devices that can be used to simulate waves in the aquarium. Some are controllers with built in wavemakers, some are stand-alone devices such as the on you linked to. Some look like a standard powerstrip but have muticycled timed outlets, some are just devices placed inline to existing plumbing which redirects the output back and forth from one side to the other (ie: SCWD's).

They arent necessary, but they will help keep detritus in suspension longer to avoid "deadspots." They can also have a positive effect on corals as well.

You also asked if you needed a sump. A sump has nothing to do with the wavemaker, the wavemaker will be utilized in the main tank. A sump is basically just used for increasing total water volume, hiding equipment etc...

You don't need one, but they are a HUGE bonus.
__________________
ryguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2006, 08:30 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 282
Thanks a lot for the info. You've helped a lot!
__________________
-A real hobby
EELectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2006, 08:46 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
I had one in my 72g reef tank with 3 PHs. Loved it. Simulated 4 different levels of current flows. 2 were dedicated to reef. Has a feeding button. When pushed, it turn the PHs off while you feed for about 10 minutes.

Also, has the night flow - you push the nite button on the first night and it remembers to do itself 24 hours later, I believe the greatly reduced nitetime flow last for about 8 hrs each nite.

How much didja find it for? May consider selling mine. It's about 2 years old and in new condition (sorry for the shameless plug in this post ).
__________________
austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2006, 03:26 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 118
I have a CHEAP alternative that works great in my tank, that power strip version of that device. Do a search for it, I can't remember who makes it but it was only a few dollars.

It has 3 timed and 3 untimed power slots open. The timing is variable with a knob. You have to play with it to get the 'right' powerhead into the 'right' power slot, but I believe one slot is on while the other is off, and the third is on for 1.5 times as long as the the first one, length of time variable with the knob. I have LEFT power head and RIGHT power head alternate (one on, the other off) blowing INTO middle of tank, and the MIDDLE power head on the longer setting, and the blows into the front glass.

My tank is only 48" long so this works for me, longer tanks and weaker powerheads may need more.

David
__________________
abnmojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2006, 04:46 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 282
I'm actually thinking about buying it from my neighbor for a cheap price but thanks anyway austinsdad.
__________________

__________________
-A real hobby
EELectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
wavemaker

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wavemaker ryshark General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 07-28-2008 02:16 PM
Wavemaker 90gallon General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 02-20-2007 05:12 PM
wavemaker General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 03-04-2006 04:51 PM
Wavemaker help? reefmaster General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 02-13-2006 12:22 PM
Wavemaker Questions... cj10488 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 12-18-2003 01:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.