Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 04-04-2012, 07:39 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Wet/Dry converted to sump/refugium?

Hello there!
I'm kind of new at this, but I was wondering about converting my current wet/dry setup to a sump/refugium/protein skimmer setup. I've done a bit of research, and it seems the wet/dry is not going to be sufficient enough to have any corals in my tank. I currently have a smaller zoa but its growth rate hasn't been much of anything. I was hoping that I could use what I currently have to get this converted. I do have some extra 10 g tanks as well as one 20g tall tank, but would it be possible to do it with what I've got already? I'll post pics later when I get home to give you a better idea.

Thoughts?

Old 04-04-2012, 08:06 PM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin

POTM Champion

Pics would help. When it comes to making your own sump, most like to use long tanks to get more room. Without knowing anything about your setup, can't really speak on most things with this. But if what you aren't able to use what you already have, the 20 gal might be your best bet due to it being larger...though with it being tall...whichever tank is longer and gives you more room to work in all honesty even though more water is always better.

Old 04-04-2012, 10:03 PM   #3

Lightbulb

Here's photos of my Niger Trigger and Fu Manchu. Also the wet/dry.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	647.jpg
Views:	264
Size:	127.2 KB
ID:	86852   Click image for larger version

Name:	625.jpg
Views:	135
Size:	103.2 KB
ID:	86853  

Click image for larger version

Name:	634.jpg
Views:	121
Size:	126.6 KB
ID:	86854  
Old 04-04-2012, 11:12 PM   #4
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin

POTM Champion