Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-16-2011, 02:12 PM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Good point Rush!.

More support for the test being flawed Prettyfishies.
__________________

__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 02:15 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 349
If nitrate was indeed at 160 everything would be obliterated and you would have so much algae you would not know what to do with it!
__________________

__________________
120 Gallon Reef

***Pics now on profile***
rush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 02:35 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
PrettyFishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,689
I tested my water prior to the change and the kit showed 0. It's API.

I have Cheato algae in the refugium

I followed the directions to a T. I've used the kit before, so I'm confident in my method.

My next theory is to stir up the sand bed (which is only 10 days old) and siphon out the crap with the next water change tomorrow.

It's possible the system was high in nitrates before I moved it to my house.
__________________
125 gal mixed REEF
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 02:37 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 349
Oh you used someone else sand bed?


That is the #1 rule, if you use someone elses sand bed, you must rinse it out first before you re use it. Or this is what happens, high nitrates.

I would take it all down and restart or the problem will never go away
__________________
120 Gallon Reef

***Pics now on profile***
rush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 02:44 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
PrettyFishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,689
No, I ditched their bed and started with fresh sand.

Are API's bad kits? I'm going to get a Salifert today.
__________________
125 gal mixed REEF
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 02:48 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 349
Then your sand bank should not have much in there and barely be alive after 10 days.

you have corals in a 10 day old tank?

Did I miss something here lol
__________________
120 Gallon Reef

***Pics now on profile***
rush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 02:50 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 564
so let me just recap. you did a basicly 40% water change... and your trates didnt drop?

Im still saying flawed test, take some water to someone else with a test kit and get them to test 160ppm is just obscene. the time needed to reach that in an unstocked tank would be ridiculous
__________________
Brad.Sedore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 02:54 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
PrettyFishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,689
Let's back up:

The tank was purchased from someone else who had it up and running 8 yrs. I moved it and kept most of the water, ditched the sand in the DT and refugium and added freshly rinsed carib sea aragonite reef special.

The tank had soft corals, brittle stars, a coral banded and 4 fish. The fish all died within 2 hours of acclimation. The corals are doing great and spreading in some cases. The shrimp molted.

So, it all doesn't make sense. But i'll be getting the new test kit soon and see what it says.
__________________
125 gal mixed REEF
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 02:59 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 564
if your trates were 160ppm that shrimp would be long dead
__________________
Brad.Sedore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 03:00 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
PrettyFishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,689
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad.Sedore View Post
if your trates were 160ppm that shrimp would be long dead
I agree!
__________________

__________________
125 gal mixed REEF
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nitrates

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nitRATES Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 04-13-2006 10:40 AM
Do plants absorb nitrate at all? mrzap Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 1 03-21-2006 02:13 PM
Nitrates 4HIRE Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 01-04-2006 09:19 PM
using plants that can absorb CO2 at night - anyone tried it? frog girl Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 9 02-08-2005 11:57 AM
High Nitrates And the Best way to lower Nitrates Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 11-29-2003 07:40 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.