Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-16-2011, 12:41 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
PrettyFishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,689
What Cna I Use to Absorb Nitrates?

My nitrates just won't come down. I've done several water changes and nothing. They are reading over 160PPM. i have corals an inverts with LR right now, but they seem unaffected.

Is there a product I can use to quickly remove nitrates?
__________________

__________________
125 gal mixed REEF
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 12:51 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hdultra's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,180
How much water are you changing.
__________________

__________________
Thank You all for sharing our hobby with me. I have learned so much, I don't know everything, and I'm not a expert. But if I can share what I have learned I'll be glad to share.
hdultra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 12:54 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
PrettyFishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,689
The last change was 55 gal and my tank is 125 gal plus the 30 gal sump (20 in there)
__________________
125 gal mixed REEF
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 01:21 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 564
i bet your test kit is boned... my messed up on me last week and i was reading 160PPM took water to the LFS and they read >10ppm

what test kit are you using
__________________
Brad.Sedore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 01:38 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
PrettyFishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,689
I just bought mine and they say theirs is new. They tested a new 2 week old cycles tank and it cane out <5 ppm
__________________
125 gal mixed REEF
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 01:40 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 564
weird are you sure your preforming the test correctly even a slight angle on one of the bottles would throw you off huge
__________________
Brad.Sedore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 01:53 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 349
Get the Seachem nitrite/nitrate test kit or the selfert.

If your nitrates are indeed that high you need to find the source. You can do all the water changes you want but if you dont find the source they will remain high.

Try some macro algae in your sump, this will help.

But with nitrates that high I would try another test kit.
__________________
120 Gallon Reef

***Pics now on profile***
rush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 01:55 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
I thought you were going to confirm the 160 reading first???? - which I still don't believe is correct.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 01:56 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Are you using RODI water for the partial water changes?
Have you tested your change water for nitrates and phosphates before you do the pwc?

It does seem that either the test kit is off or your method of testing is not per the instructions. What test kit are you using? Does it have an expiration date on it?
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 01:57 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 349
160, do test kits even go that high?

my seachem goes up to 50 I believe, which is extremely high, the highest I have seen is like 40-45.

You definitely want it under 10, under 5 is preferable and 0 is your goal :P
__________________

__________________
120 Gallon Reef

***Pics now on profile***
rush is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nitrates

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nitRATES Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 04-13-2006 10:40 AM
Do plants absorb nitrate at all? mrzap Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 1 03-21-2006 02:13 PM
Nitrates 4HIRE Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 01-04-2006 09:19 PM
using plants that can absorb CO2 at night - anyone tried it? frog girl Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 9 02-08-2005 11:57 AM
High Nitrates And the Best way to lower Nitrates Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 11-29-2003 07:40 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.