Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-07-2006, 04:08 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
weemanpow3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 224
What do I do with this macro algae.

I went to the LFS and the guy sold me 3/4 of a gallon of macro algae for 1 dollar It was a one day sale. It has tube worms, little shrimp, pods, snails everywhere. Im gonna build a sump in a couple of days. What do I do with the stuff now.
__________________

__________________
30 gallon with 250w 14k HQI lighting
weemanpow3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 05:05 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
What type macro?
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 05:25 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
weemanpow3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 224
green thin tough strings not thin like hair algae
__________________
30 gallon with 250w 14k HQI lighting
weemanpow3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 05:32 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 11,423
Sounds like cheato. Do you have a QT tank? Last time I actually bought macros, it came with aptasia attached, be careful if adding it right to your main tank.
__________________
~Cindy
Fluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 06:07 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
weemanpow3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 224
what should I do with it though. I dont have a qt tank.
__________________
30 gallon with 250w 14k HQI lighting
weemanpow3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 10:30 PM   #6
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
You`ll have to keep the bag in your water and change the water every day in the bag.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 10:49 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by melosu58
You`ll have to keep the bag in your water and change the water every day in the bag.
Ditto, good advice. Clip it to the side or something to keep it from tipping over and stuff spilling into your tank.
__________________
angelscrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 11:18 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 732
You could just put it in your tank to help out the main tank pod population out a bit. Then when you get your sump up and running just pull it out and put it in.
__________________
ntswift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 02:44 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 118
hey, I don't mean to be a killjoy or anything but GET A QT TANK

You will save yourself a TON of heartache in the long run. Get a $30 wallmart special plastic 5 gallon tank, put some sand or gravel from the main tank in there, just enough to coat the bottom of the thing and some water from the main tank. plug it in, and let it run. You might invest in a small powerhead to move the water arround, but you might not need it if the included pump is good enough. You also could buy one small damsel or something and toss it in too, just to keep the bio-load cycling. You need a QT tank. trust me, when you add a powder brown tang to your main system that comes down with ich a week later and wipes out half your 100 gallon setup, you will wish you had a QT tank.
__________________
abnmojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 08:41 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,066
Send a message via Yahoo to vsnsofadrgn
you could get a $3 suction cup soap dish from walmart, and keep in that, under some flow in the main tank til you get the sump up and runnin.
__________________

__________________
visions of a dragon

hope dies last
vsnsofadrgn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae, macro, macro algae

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what macro algae to get? lmetcalf Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 10-12-2009 12:35 AM
Macro algae Fierro Nights Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 6 08-18-2008 08:08 PM
Macro Algae Wanted To Buy...(Update on Ducky's Algae!) revhtree Archive 25 03-26-2005 06:56 PM
macro algae fishtender Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 09-28-2003 07:42 PM
Macro Algae Salt4Us Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 07-07-2003 10:55 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.