Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 02-21-2011, 08:52 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

What fish/corals to put??

Hello all. Im a newbie into this hobby. I have a 29 gallon saltwater tank with around 30lbs of live rock , a canister filter, a rio nano skimmer and a CPR aquafuge hob refugium. My tank crashed about 4 weeks ago .I had a yellow tang(I know ..a rookie mistake), 2 clowns, a cleaner shrimp and a hermit crab. I was wondering if any of you could recommend what fish/corals to put in there.right now I have a small damsel and 2 small hermit crabs in there. Thanks for the help

Old 02-21-2011, 09:19 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak

Why did it crash? Did you have to re-cycle the tank? How old is the tank, and what kind of lighting do you have?

Old 02-21-2011, 09:52 PM   #3

Welcome to AA!

If you do consider getting corals, you are either going to have to get rid of the canister or do weekly cleanings on the media (by swishing it in old tank water). The canister will act as a nitrate factory producing more nitrates (which reef tanks need nitrates to be at 0).

What kind of lighting do you have? How many watts?

I would recommend getting rid of the damsel and replacing it with something else. Most damsels can and will be aggressive to other tanks-mates by either chasing them away from their territory or fighting.

As far as the rest of the 'fish' stock, Im not sure. You could get some more hermits, snails, etc to make a nice Clean up Crew.
Old 02-21-2011, 10:51 PM   #4