Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-08-2011, 03:59 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 47
Yes. Yes
__________________

__________________
Bigjbones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 04:01 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 47
I usually do a 24 hr wait but nitrate n ite was staring to show- very minimal. . It was always nitrite nitrate n Amon 0. So did water change asap that i saw it creep in
__________________

__________________
Bigjbones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 09:43 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
PrettyFishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,689
Do you have space for a big garbage can? It's a great practice to always have change water ready for situations like this. I love, love, love, Rubbermaid Brute cans. They are strong as ...... I used to use the tubs, but the larger ones break. For a 40 gal, you should get a 20-25 gal container and always have mixed sw ready. It comes in handy and you know it's aged.
__________________
125 gal mixed REEF
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 12:06 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 47
i have a 5gallon bucket that i use for my water changes. i usually let it sit for about a day w/ heater.
__________________
Bigjbones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 12:07 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 47
update: woke up this morning and the cloudiness was gone. fish are all doing great.
__________________
Bigjbones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 12:43 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: ontario
Posts: 771
My water always goes cloudy when I mix it up. I do it in a garbage can and let it mix for a few days. Take it as I need it. I find it is a chemical reaction when you add your ph.
__________________
Sqasnatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 05:09 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,320
I think it is a very small amount of calcium that gets kicked out of solution. Happens whenever I do a water change of any size, especially if the salt mix was fresh and didn't sit at least 24 hours.
__________________

__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It happened Wizzard~Of~Ozz Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding 21 04-15-2007 11:22 PM
What happened to..... crazyred Forum Admin & Announcements 3 01-16-2007 01:13 PM
What happened to my pH? Elle2 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 22 05-17-2006 04:30 PM
You'll never believe what happened!!! taz291819 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 04-18-2005 03:35 PM
What Happened? mitche8359 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 7 01-21-2003 09:15 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.