Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-13-2004, 01:23 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rosemount, MN
Posts: 1,091
Send a message via AIM to WarOrks15 Send a message via MSN to WarOrks15
What is high Phosphates?

well i just got my seachenm phosphates. i tested my tap water and got like .1 i know it is not 0 but is that pritty good for tap water? i also got some phos-zorb. but i do not know if i really need it. or should i put it in there just to take out all phosphates?
__________________

__________________
WarOrks15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2004, 05:08 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
well imo this week ya water might be at .1 but next week it might be at 1. !! if its a reef i wouldnt trust the tap water to be consistent ya know !! use the sponge to be safe !!
__________________

__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2004, 05:10 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
High Phosphates = anything detectable. Usually you want to keep it below .05 ppm if possible.



It is nearly impossible to keep the level at zero. Nearly everything to goes into the tank at one time or another has some level of phosphate in it whether it be carbon to fish food...
__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2004, 12:18 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rosemount, MN
Posts: 1,091
Send a message via AIM to WarOrks15 Send a message via MSN to WarOrks15
so add the phos-zorb?
__________________
A 46 gal bow front (Soft coral) reef tank with a 10 gal sump. And a 30 gal (SPS and Clam) reef tank hooked up to the sump of the 46 so they share water.
WarOrks15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2004, 08:31 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
Quote:
so add the phos-zorb?
I can't see of any good reason why not to use it if you have it.
__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
high ph, phosphates

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phosphates way too high... what can I do? Trumpee Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 02-15-2008 07:04 PM
Beard Algae & High Phosphates in new tank. HELP! doctorp Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 22 05-24-2007 04:44 PM
High Phosphates jibboo Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 02-01-2005 09:58 PM
High Phosphates skip_16157 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 01-29-2004 03:30 PM
High Phosphates!! bizzybeas Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 07-31-2003 02:02 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.