Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 12-28-2003, 08:47 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

Send a message via MSN to blaster
What is the correct temp for Saltwater

Hello all,

This is my first post on this forum. I really enjoyed reading all the articles and made the right choice and join.

I am very new to this hobby and really looks like fun and many new things to learn.

My question is what is the correct temp in a saltwater tank? The temp goes to 68.5 F at night and reaches as high as 77.2 F during the day. Of course this happens with the lights.

My tank is a 140 gal with about 60 ibs of LR 3 802 power heads, Protein Skimmer, one heater of course.

Have a Yellow tang, 2 Spider Shrimp, 5 blue Damsel 7 turbo Snails, 5 hermit crabs and one feather duster. Oh forgot one Hippo tang as well.

Everyone is giving me all kinds of numbers which is the correct temp.

Cheers to all

Old 12-28-2003, 09:12 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist

Send a message via AIM to packfan2204
i definitely think that your range during the day is way too dramatic. I would make sure ur heater is working and that ur temp stays pretty much the same during the day, cause i think that would put a lot of stress on ur fish. And i don't think there's any one temp u should have, but i would aim for anything between 78 and 82 degrees, and make sure it stays at one temp all day long. I have mine set on 80 degrees.

July 25, 2005-ship date, can't wait!!!
packfan2204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2003, 09:13 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular

68.5 is too low IMO. I'd say a safe range of temperature would be between 76 and 79. Some may keep their tanks a little warmer, but I usually keep our tank at 78.