What is this?!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nicolea

Aquarium Advice Activist
I just setup my tank with water and salt. Most of my salt is dissolved so I put one live rock in there as advised to by the local fish store. And this thing came off of it. I think it was alive it was moving. Not so much anymore :s it looks like a parasitic type creature. Any ideas? I attached the pictures

Attachments

• image-2394562094.jpg
    image-2394562094.jpg
    125.1 KB · Views: 265
  • image-3188485510.jpg
    image-3188485510.jpg
    123.2 KB · Views: 282
Last edited by a moderator:
It's a bristle worm. Part of the clean up crew. What are you using to cycle?

That is a bristle worm, and it died because you added the rock to an un-cycled tank. Where is your experience at within the aquarium world?

I am brand new with no experience with salt water. I put half distilled water and half tap with the treatments added that the store sold me. They sold me a rock, pictured below and told me if it dries out it would die so wait an hour or two after the salt and than put the rock in the tank. So i did!? I have a brand new Fluval C4 filter and Fluval heater.
I don't have substrate down yet I'm picking that up tomorrow.
They told me to keep the pump going and my tank should be okay in about 3 weeks.
I will test everything before I add anything first. Did I do something wrong here ? Am I going to kill the rock too!?

Here's the rock

Attachments

• image-4162690698.jpg
    image-4162690698.jpg
    143.4 KB · Views: 229
Unfortunately you will and have killed the Rock, before everyone starts flooding you're thread, let me say you have been led down the wrong path a little... Or a lot and I am happy you are here to get it straight and save a TON of money. I am looking for my write up on cycling and general knowledge and I will get it to you.