Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-31-2004, 10:18 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 136
Send a message via AIM to turboTSI Send a message via Yahoo to turboTSI
what substrate mix?

I got a 40lb bag or aragonite...now I know I need more then just that.. but I have heard of puttin ghte larger stuff on the bottom then the aragonite on top that way u dont get any toxis built up in the bottom that can ecape in a "bubble" and crash the tank... now what do u guys recomend for setting up the substrate.. now deep for a future reef tank. and what layers of what?

Dave
__________________

__________________
turboTSI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 10:23 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 3,968
I recommend dead caribbean sand, then live sand. No aragonite.
__________________

__________________
Bearfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 10:27 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 136
Send a message via AIM to turboTSI Send a message via Yahoo to turboTSI
ok well I already got the aragonite.. it is the Carb-Sea Aragonite sand 40lb bag

now do u just use the caridean sand no bigger rock etc for the bottom..

Dave
turboTSI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 10:28 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 3,968
I think if you use Aragonite, people only use Aragonite...
__________________
Bearfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 10:31 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 136
Send a message via AIM to turboTSI Send a message via Yahoo to turboTSI
ok thx

Dave
turboTSI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 10:33 AM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 3,968
You may want to find someone who uses cc as a substrate and ask them, I did my research and went dsb.
__________________
Bearfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 10:46 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 136
Send a message via AIM to turboTSI Send a message via Yahoo to turboTSI
... I dont know half of thoses abreviations

Dave
turboTSI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 11:06 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Danville, Indiana
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to brndfrb
i was using crushed coral or CC but then went DSB (deep sand bed) Much better and looks much nicer. If you can find southdown sand or old castle sand use that . As long as it says tropical play sand from the carribean sterilized etc. Southdown has a picture of a little boy on it and it is a blue and red bag.
__________________
brndfrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 12:47 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 136
Send a message via AIM to turboTSI Send a message via Yahoo to turboTSI
ah ok.... I was going to do a DSB... so how many pounds of sand so I need for a 55g to have a nice DSB?

Dave
turboTSI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 01:32 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Atari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,468
If you look at the top of the page you'll see the link for calculators.. I believe there's one for sand beds in there too.

BTW, it has to do with the footprint of the tank not the volume. A tall column tank could also be 55 gal but obviously would need much less sand than yours for the same depth.

EDIT: Hmm, the calculator on this site gives a totally different result to the one at garf.org.. is it just me or does anyone else get that too? Is it because one is for sand and the other for aragonite?
__________________

__________________
Atari is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To mix or not to mix? Aquasoil and SMS evercl92 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 10-22-2007 11:54 PM
Substrate questions (coral/sand mix and reusing DSB?) SkinnyPete Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 07-13-2007 06:23 PM
To mix or not to mix, that is the question JDogg Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 12 05-30-2007 03:57 AM
2questions1post, Refugium lighting substrate/Tank Substrate divemasterjim Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 04-23-2006 07:46 PM
Anyone mix substrate? Poolrad Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 06-24-2005 10:19 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.