What would you recommend as the best pump ???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sam

Aquarium Advice Freak
:?: I am looking for recommendations on the best in-line pump for plumbing my saltwater holding container to the display tank. Head is approx 15'. This of course will be very occasional use so not looking for a heavy duty coninuous use pump (in other words, a cheaper pump that will get the job done :wink: ). Thanks

By the way RR, just checked on the MD 7-12, shutoff for the 12 is 14' and the 7 is like 10'. Need something with a little more uuumph. They do have a MD 18 @ around $187 that will go 18' but that is more than I want to spend on this. Thanks again.

I have no experience with the senn or the dolphin pumps, but I haven't read any complaints about them either.

You might put up a WTB thread in the classifieds, or the barter and trade forums, looking for a specific pump that meets your specs. In your situation...used might be the way to go.

Sam i dont believe your going to find a decent pump thats going to push 14' cheap, its impossible. You might find a cheap one but its no good if you have to replace it every 6 months or year. JMHO

well imo if it is only for water changes and what not he dont need alot of flow in the first place just a little bit would be better for adding water imo and a mag 9.5 prob would cut it as long as ya shrink the output line down to 1/2 or even 3/4 with no prob i use a mag 9.5 to pump from my basement to the first floor which leads to a little giant pump for the extra ummfff just my thought due to ya not needed that much volume for water changes

I gotta agree with reefrunner, the mag is a great pump. Its not as cheap as other pumps but in the long run it will be well worth it. (and eventually cheaper after you replace all the junk pumps you buy.)