Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-24-2012, 02:08 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 8
I have made the decision to go with a sump/ fuge. It may cost more initially but from what I can tell it'll be completely worth it. I am working on setting up my 75 gallon reef ready tank now. I purchased the Aqueon proflex model 3 sump and it is fantastic from my initial experience. Thanks for all the help and great feedback from everyone. I can't wait to dive into this hobby.
__________________

__________________
joekpayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 02:41 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Readingexcalibur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,305
Wait, I'm a bit confused, I have been running twin xP3s on my 60g and have not been realy happy. These filters are $140+ each. I tool one off and built a 10g sump and fuge, with a PVC overflow (not drilled) for $90. The pump being the most expensive item of 60$ for a 700gph. I built a 1inch overflow and I am getting 350+ gph out of my sump and refuge. Also notice I set it up as a top skimmer, no more proteins floating in my tank!

IMO you made a good choice, but they are not as expensive if you make one, unless you buy a pre built one. I have no "arts and crafts" abilities at all and I made this work! I am however interested to see a pic of yours when it's set up!

Don't judge, I added new sand and it clouded up a little.
__________________

__________________
"When you're down by the sea and an eel bites your knee... That's a Moray"
Readingexcalibur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 03:12 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Thartsockpg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 274
I'm also looking into the sump but I don't now how to plum it. Or how to know how many gph I need. I have a 30 gallon tank
__________________
Thartsockpg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 03:24 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Readingexcalibur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thartsockpg
I'm also looking into the sump but I don't now how to plum it. Or how to know how many gph I need. I have a 30 gallon tank
Plumbing is the easy part. Check out PVC overflow on youtube. Also, look at some vids people did on DIY sump. I would think 375gph would be pretty good for a 30. That is a 1" pipe. Remember that pumps lose so much gph with every foot of elevation the water travels. That's why we use valves to fine tune the sump!
__________________

__________________
"When you're down by the sea and an eel bites your knee... That's a Moray"
Readingexcalibur is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
55 gallon, filtration, ich, setup

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.