Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-15-2004, 10:30 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,829
Which is better for SW, 29gal or 30 gal?

I have my SW setup in a 29gal right now, but I need to get rid of some of these extra tanks that I have sitting around.

So what I was wondering, is would it be better to keep my SW setup in the 29gal, or would it be better to move everything to the 30gal?


Once I get the money for improved lighting, I'd like to get into corals and such, and a shallower tank would be easier as far as light intensity.


But then again it dosn't have the verticle room rock stacking and what not.


I have to get one of these tanks out of my house, and I would like to get everyones opinion here..

If you were in this position, what would you do? Would you leave it in the 29gal or would you move it to the 30gal?




EDIT

If it helps decision making any, I'm most likely going to have to move the 29gal SW from where it is, anyway. So Thats probably a big thing as to weither or not you would tank switch..
__________________

__________________
30gal; Bala Shark, Pl*co
William is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 11:07 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 852
Send a message via MSN to sumphead
I would if it were a 30 Long.
__________________

__________________
I wish I had a nickel for every miracle that you easily tricked me into. -Chris Robinson
sumphead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 12:54 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,829
its a standard 30, not a 30 tall.
__________________
30gal; Bala Shark, Pl*co
William is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 01:37 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 410
My opnion is. If your gonna do it do it now. Before you have fish and sensitive coral. Heck go for it..

Doan
__________________
Doan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 02:30 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,829
Thats why I'm pondering doing it now, because I know it'd be a heck of alot more tedius when I have fish to worry about.
__________________
30gal; Bala Shark, Pl*co
William is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 02:39 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lompoc, Ca
Posts: 1,313
Send a message via AIM to XXFirefighter Send a message via Yahoo to XXFirefighter
I'd do it now. If yoru gonna move the tank anyway. It would make things a ton easier !
__________________
XXFirefighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 07:03 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
I agree go with the 30, it has more surface area, which translates to a better tank for your fish.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 07:36 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 1,869
Send a message via AIM to jamal-188
Quote:
Originally Posted by reefrunner69
I agree go with the 30, it has more surface area, which translates to a better tank for your fish.
Also won't need to send light at deep in your tank.
__________________
jamal-188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2004, 01:01 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
There is only 3 inches difference in height so thats not to much of an issue. I had this same dilemma and used a 29, though I now wish I had used the 30. I think the fish would be better off with more horizontal swimming space. Also you can incorporate 36" bulbs (95 watts VHO) into your system w/ the 30, w/ the 29 your limited to 24"(75 watts VHO).
__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2004, 10:38 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,829
I think I've settled on moving everything to the 30.

I just need to get a piece of glass cut, or pick up some eggcrate for the top.


No LFS within 40 miles carries standard 36inch glass hoods, Which has irritated me quite a bit.

Every single one has umpteen billion 36inch EURO [ Bow'd ] tops, but no standards.


Anyways, soon as I get some sort of a top for the tank, I'll move everything in there.

Thanks for your opinions.
__________________

__________________
30gal; Bala Shark, Pl*co
William is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
29 gallon, ich

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I Want to Do This 29gal Right Nickfu06 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 9 06-29-2009 04:58 PM
What to do with my 29gal? Leader of Men Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 02-18-2008 08:58 PM
my new 29gal setup thanew Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 9 03-31-2005 09:30 PM
29gal Tank Flammable Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 08-08-2004 08:23 PM
going from FW to SW 29gal rokz Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 03-02-2004 03:09 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.