Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-12-2005, 09:30 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
I personally think that the siphon loss problem has nothing to do with the size of the tank. Having a siphon overflow that is far too big for your pump causes problems but from the conversations I have had with you dax29, I think if anything you would have the opposite problem(trying to push the limits of the overflow box).
__________________

__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 09:46 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,341
Very timely discussion. I am looking at purchasing a new tank this weekend and am debating on overflow or not. I am not sure I am ready for a sump yet, but now would be the time.

Everyone responded that they did not drill because there system was already set up. If you could do it again would you have bought a tank already drilled vs HOB overflow?
__________________

__________________
Aaron

Tank: 90 Gal SW Reef in the making

See my info for setup and inhabitant details:
afilter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2005, 01:04 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Tifton Ga
Posts: 660
Good question. I've heard that overflow boxes are afterthoughts. The cost of the pre-drilled tank is what is killing me.
__________________
dax29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2005, 09:59 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,341
Yeah, I have been pricing tanks and getting a pre-drilled adds about $80 with the overflow kit and good overflow boxes run $100-150.
__________________
Aaron

Tank: 90 Gal SW Reef in the making

See my info for setup and inhabitant details:
afilter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2005, 11:48 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Tifton Ga
Posts: 660
So you are running about $180-230. My quote from glasscages added $120.
__________________
dax29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2005, 02:51 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,341
I priced an All Glass 90gal (Pet World Warehouse) with single mega over flow for $226 w/o mega overflow $193 add 49.99 for the overflow kit(plumbing). Total to get drill overflow $83 more than the non drilled Tank.

In this area Pet World was far cheaper than anyone else on their tanks though and they advertise lowest price guarantee. Better yet, they keep them in stock from 10g-180g and will special order anything else.

I think I am going with the 90G with overflow even tough I am not ready for a full sump/fuge I will just run a rubbermaid tub in the meantime.
__________________
Aaron

Tank: 90 Gal SW Reef in the making

See my info for setup and inhabitant details:
afilter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2005, 05:37 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,111
It is a good idea, but optimally your sump should handle all back siphon. That's the case whether it is done through an external or internal overflow though. I do have a low flow float switch in my sump though to prevent water on the floor should the overflow fail. That switch has saved me a couple of times. Once the drain hole out of the overflow box got clogged and once the airline tubing ended up getting air in it. I think I could put an aqualifter pump on the airline to prevent siphon loss but since I have the float switch I've never bothered to look into it.

Still not a perfect world, but I test it often.

Also, make sure that you clean out those air holes (once a month is a good idea) to make sure that gunk doesn't build up in there and cause the airhole to fail to break the siphon in the event of a power failure.

As for not being ready for the sump you could always cap the overflows so that they didn't... overflow. Then when you're ready open up and go from there.

I would never purposely buy a non-drilled tank, even if it was 200$ more expensive. It is SOOOOO worth it.
__________________
Phyllis

Join the NJ Reef Club Today! Saving the world's reefs one living room at a time!
MACNA XXI Atlantic City, NJ September 25-27, 2009
Phyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 10:48 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 123
Sorry to bring this thread back into play but I am now looking into starting up a Sump/fuge. My concern is not with the siphon overflowing the fuge in the event of apower outage but the power coming back on and overflowing the tank when the return pump returns all that water. If the siphon broke, then would'nt the tank overflow? Trying to avoid this. Any suggestions?
__________________
MyMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 11:11 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Pasadena, TX
Posts: 140
Send a message via MSN to pelochas Send a message via Yahoo to pelochas
you can put a float switch on your main tank to turn off the return pump.

In a perfect world, the CPR overflow will still have siphon if the sump is full and the tank is low. when power returns, the water levels rises in the main tank, and the overflow will continue to siphon the water to the sump.

http://www.melevsreef.com/what_sump.html

i have the standard overflow box with the U tubes. I cant keep a siphon going if the tank goes low and the sump goes full. if power returns, my tank may overflow. havent tested it yet, should of done this outside before setting the whole thing up.

i going to either buy the CPR overflow box or somehow mod mines with the aqualifter.
__________________
pelochas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2005, 01:04 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 123
Now I see. Thanks for the link. Now I understand how the sipphon starts back up when the pump turns back on say, after a power failure. Finally.
__________________

__________________
MyMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
external, flow, overflow, overflow box

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

« whew! | vho setup »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External Overflow - how to start the siphoning? (pic's) 1brent1 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 03-13-2011 04:13 PM
HOB overflow Box Vs. Internal overflow box FishFrik Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 09-10-2006 12:36 AM
External Overflow? MyMonkey Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 09-26-2005 06:05 PM
please help my external overflow box to get flowing pelochas General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 09-20-2005 12:54 PM
***!!!NEW!!!!*** Overflow Box Archive 11 12-23-2004 02:00 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.