Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-25-2012, 03:09 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Wht would be better for the tank????

Have stock bulbs on my T5s. I'm not sure if I should get new bulbs or a vortech mp10 powerhead. I have 2 1400gph and 1 550. I do have tiny dead spots in the corners. Any thoughts?
__________________

__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 03:13 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Nu-Nu the eel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,455
What size tank is this?
__________________

__________________
Nu-Nu the eel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 03:19 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Wy Renegade's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 4,714
How old are the stock bulbs?
__________________
the Bog

"Listen to some of these guys talk, and it's like they were born from their momma's belly with a fishkeeping encyclopedia in one hand and an API kit in the other" (unrevealed).
Wy Renegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 03:28 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Stock bulbs are probably 8ish months. 150g 6x18x28
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 03:45 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Wy Renegade's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 4,714
Theoretically, you have about 4 months before you need to replace bulbs, so if you can get the money for bulbs again in that time period, then I would get the powerheads. If not, I'd replace the bulbs. Failing bulbs are notorious for promoting algae growth.
__________________
the Bog

"Listen to some of these guys talk, and it's like they were born from their momma's belly with a fishkeeping encyclopedia in one hand and an API kit in the other" (unrevealed).
Wy Renegade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 04:09 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
I do have a decent amount of algae that's why I was asking. I will have the money for the bulbs in 4 months. But not for the powerhead. One more question. Should I get a vortech mp10 (1500 gph) or a koralia that's rated for 2200? The vortech has really awesome features and I was thinking of using it as a wave maker to move more detritus around. Which on????? Also, the vortechs flow is a lot more spread out......... So it would more more places around...... I'm thinking vortech. What about you? The vortech is about $60 more expensive though.
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 04:20 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
MikeYQM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 489
The MP10 is not really geared towards a tank that size. One or a pair of MP40s will do better. 1500gph is the max, but the programs vary the speed greatly depending on which you use.
__________________
MikeYQM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 04:35 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
That's the only one I can afford right now. I'm 13 lol. I could either get this one now and the lights later, or just the lights later and not the vortech. Should I get the vortech or the koralia?????? I already have a 2 1400 and 1 550. Would the vortech work with that?
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 04:38 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Or should I get the koralia 2200? The only reason I'm leaning towards the vortech is because of the wave feature.
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 04:51 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
And would an mp10 create any wave?????
__________________

__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.