Why do my corals keep dying??!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

iwnabonbrdway

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello =]
I've had my tank established for over a year and have had the same fish for probably around 8 months. Its a 29 biocube. No nitrates or ammonia, pH is 8.6 (a little high) salinity is .026. I've managed to kill a plate coral and a frag of some type of polyp. I have done research and am trying to figure out what I am doing wrong but cannot... I just put two frags in. One is frogspawn and the other is honestly something I cannot remember. Please excuse my ignorance as I am very new to coral and am trying to get it right. I have two percula clowns, a pink skunk clown, small hippo tang, four large turbo snails, peppermint shrimp, emerald and hermit crabs and a sand sifting star. So far the frogspawn looks good but the other one is pretty withered... Please help me keep it alive!!

How close are your corals? They're both somewhat aggressive and have sweeper tenticles which could inflict damage to eachother. What kind of lighting do you have? Waterflow? Have you tried moving the corals? Sometimes they like to be lower/higher in the tank. FYI: Im surprised you haven't heard from them yet, but I'm sure the tang police is going to get you for keeping a hippo tang in a 29g.

You really need to address the tang in a 29 gallon tank before you do anything else. LOL

What are you water parameters? Ammon, nitrite, nitrate, calcium and phosphates. Do you use tap water or ro/di water?

And I'm dead serious about the tang.

And I'm dead serious about the tang.

Says someone with a mandarin in a 29 :flowers:

But please answer her questions. We need to know all the water parameters as well as your LIGHTING!