Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-05-2006, 10:58 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 181
Why drill?

I'm in the process of starting a new setup. I'm still unsure (due to space requirements) what size the main tank will be. At the smallest it will be a 75 and if my wife can be swayed it could be up to a 125.

What is the advantage to drilling a return as opposed to a hang on back with siphon? Is there a size cutoff where you would want to do this and where you would add two drains?

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Reese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 11:30 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: So-Cal
Posts: 640
I'm doing the same with a 120 gallon. Main advantage is removing the clutter from inside the tank. I would also add holes for a closed loop circulation system. Again, it removes stuff, in this case PH's, from inside the tank. Also, a closed loop will allow your sump/fuge to flow more slowly and gently while your primary flow can supply 10x-15x turnover and really whip it up. You don't want too heavy of a flow through a fuge

With larger tanks, some folks like the drains in the middle. Myself, I prefer corner drains for easier access for maintainance but that's just my preference.

What kind of tank are you setting up? Reef, FOWLR?? That will determine your flow needs and whether you should lean toward a closed loop. HTH, good luck!
__________________

__________________
55 gallon
dual 175 MH w/ dual 32W PC Actinics
75# LR
runway1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 11:43 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dskidmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Genesee Valley
Posts: 2,616
An overflow box based on a siphon is more likely to fail than a drilled overflow. If the siphon breaks for any reason, you can end up with the volume of your sump out on the floor, and a burnt out sump pump. Drilled overflows have an appearance advantage over hang-on. Drilled overflows can handle a slightly larger water flow than a siphon overflow with the same pipe diameter. With the use of a standpipe, drilled overflows can also be quiteter.
dskidmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 12:47 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 181
My goal was a 100 gallon FOWLR with 29 gallon sump/refug. with an overrated skimmer. But I'm having a problem getting a reasonably priced 100 gallon. It's a wall space issue. A 125 gal. @ 72" is just too long. A 5' 100 gallon would be perfect. But I'll probably just end up with a 90 (4' wide) which while it will limit me is probably more financially reasonable right now anyway.

I have a cabinet/furniture shop so I'm able to make my own cabinet and hood. I'll be able to save on my lighting by doing it myself and buying the ballasts/bulbs through hellolights.com (great prices IMO). I'm building my fuge right now (I'll post designs for your feedback later). I'm also transferring about 35 lbs. of LR that have in my current 29 gallon setup. So my main expenses are going to be the main tank, a good skimmer, additional LR, pumps, etc.

Any advice is appreciated. I'll post my designs later so you wonderful people can me your feedback.

Thanks...
__________________
Reese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 01:00 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: So-Cal
Posts: 640
With a FOWLR tank you won't need more than 10x flow. A fuge won't be necessary either unless you're thinking you may change your system and add corals. A fuge IMO adds no benefit to a FOWLR tank.

Given that, your circulation will be far more simple too. a single 1000/1200 gph pump for a return and you're all set. You can have twin returns in the corners for decent flow and your fish will love it.

Keep in miind, if you want to add corals later, you may regret not having more holes plumbed for higher flow rates.
__________________
55 gallon
dual 175 MH w/ dual 32W PC Actinics
75# LR
runway1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 01:30 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 181
There is a chance of adding corals down the road. But I'm in no hurry to do that so that may not happen until I'm in a bigger house with a bigger tank. Wouldn't a refugium with macroalgae help with nitrates/oxygen? Do you think I I'm just better off keeping the current wet/dry (rated for up to 75 gallon) and just buying a 75 gallon tank and adding more LR and sand?
__________________
Reese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 02:46 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,111
My husband and I were just laughing at ourselves last night. We remenisced to the day we were considering out tank. "The" thing that put it over the edge for us was that we wanted it up against the wall. That sealed the deal for us, made perfect sense and we went with it.

In retrospect I wouldn't ever purchase a tank EVER that wasn't already RR. It just makes sense. You inevitably want to feed a sump (for inumerous reasons) and when you do that RR is the ONLY way to go, if you have the option up front.

Our 65 was free. It is not RR and a terrible PIA and worry. I'd much rather not have to worry about the perfect conditions failing and water on my floor.

Closed loop is great too, but that's one of those things that nobody would be able to talk you into until after you'd been there and done that!

Good luck with the tank!
__________________
Phyllis

Join the NJ Reef Club Today! Saving the world's reefs one living room at a time!
MACNA XXI Atlantic City, NJ September 25-27, 2009
Phyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 03:56 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Orlando
Posts: 274
Send a message via AIM to robertfah
I'm in the same situation as you are. I've bought a 155 gallon, bow-front tank from my neighbor for only $1,300. And that includes the tank, stand, wet/dry/ red sea berlin skimmer, mag 18b pump and about $400 worth of fake coral. We have since added a 72" Orbit Power Compact light to it and the tank is amazing. However, we have 2 overflow boxes (1 in each corner) and while they've been very reliable, I'm wondering about drilling.

We do plan to move the tank in the next 6 months, so I could take it to my LFS and have it drilled, but that takes alot of time.

Beside the 'space' reason, does anyone see the reason NOT to build a reef tank with the overflow boxes?
__________________
robertfah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 04:04 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cherry Hill New Jersey
Posts: 238
Can an up and running tank with livestock be drilled out and retrofitted without killing everything? I would LOVE to ditch the clunky plastic overflow box and those horrible unnatural looking PHs.

This is yet another one of those things that I wish I knew before jumping into this hobby. Bless my friend who steered me into this hobby, but his advice was as outdated as the VCR!!.

Spin
__________________
120 g FOWLR, Pro Clear 200 19 gal. sump (bio balls removed), 50# Walt Smith FiJi LR, 150# reefersrock base, 300# DSB, Iwaki MD 20 return, (2) Rio 600s, (2) Hagen 802s, Amiracle Quad II skimmer, (2) Coralife 4 X 65s, 2 Lebo moonlights, (2) 120 mm vent. fans,

(2) Perc. Clowns, (1) Yellow Tang, (1) cleaner shrimp, (2) Henis, pending: Foxace Lo, Flame Angel, blue legs, scarlets, 4 emerald crabs, nassarius snails, 50 mexican turbos, (1) good bankruptcy attorney when this hobby blows out of control!
spinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 04:08 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,111
If you've already got a RR tank why would you WANT to use an overflow box? If you're looking for more flow the best thing to do is to go Closed Loop on it (you can actually drill it yourself, fairly easily). You don't want additional throughput through the sump as it would make your skimmer, fuge, etc less effective.

Overflows are purely annoying, unless you have IDEAL conditions it is also prone to overflowing or being obnoxiously loud.
__________________

__________________
Phyllis

Join the NJ Reef Club Today! Saving the world's reefs one living room at a time!
MACNA XXI Atlantic City, NJ September 25-27, 2009
Phyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to drill? fishrfreinds DIY Projects 6 01-13-2007 06:56 PM
New tank, what to drill ellisz General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 11-15-2005 05:59 PM
my drill broke so.. which one should i get krap101 Aquaria Off-Topic 11 06-25-2005 02:53 AM
whats the difference between a hammer drill and a drill? krap101 Aquaria Off-Topic 2 06-22-2005 08:02 PM
better off to drill? 24 hours? NE! Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 05-01-2004 02:23 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.