Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-20-2014, 03:01 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Animal-Chin's Avatar

Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,315
Why no live rock in a quarantine tank?

Well after loosing all my fish to velvet I've set up a quarantine tank. It's cycling now so it doesn't have a fish in it. I've read article after article on these tanks and all say no liverock or sand. My question is why no rock? I would think it would help with the amonia like in my display so i don't get why I cant have some.

Even if I treat the tank for ich or something one day, I'd just leave that rock in the quarantine tank that doesn't have coral or inverts, whats the harm?
__________________

__________________
Animal-Chin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2014, 03:14 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,675
If you don't plan on transferring any of the rock out I don't see why it would be a problem.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2014, 04:23 PM   #3
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I agree. As long as it never makes it into another tank it should be good to go. Esp. if you have to use copper.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2014, 08:04 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ingy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Comox, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,837
A lot of people confuse a QT with a HT (hospital tank).

I put some rocks, PVC elbows and a bio filter pad I keep in my sump into the qt. If I determine treatment is required (hypo salinity only, I never use copper) then the rocks and bio pads are removed and cleaned (and dried for a couple months minimum). Meanwhile i hypo the qt making it now a ht. You want to minimize BB during hypo to limit die off during treatment.

After the qt the tank and PVC are cleaned and the tank is put back into the shed until next time. The PVC is dried and later put back into the sump to cure for next time.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Ingy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
live, live rock, quarantine, quarantine tank, rock, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cycling/curing a new tank with Live Rock, Base Rock, Live Sand AquaRick Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 09-22-2011 08:03 PM
Live Rock In Quarantine? 360º Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 04-28-2011 01:30 PM
Dead rock - Live rock - Cured rock - Uncured rock Charlie Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 07-08-2006 08:44 AM
Quarantine live rock? ctmedman Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 0 08-03-2005 08:51 PM
Quarantine live rock? ZoozFishMaster Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 02-16-2005 09:26 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.