Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-28-2005, 01:05 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St Petersburg Fl
Posts: 603
Send a message via AIM to pearsont74 Send a message via Yahoo to pearsont74
Will this work?

Trying to balance out my pumps....
Here is what i got (see pic)
my pump for my PS is a mag 9 and my return is a mag 5. Right now I have to adjust the flow alot on my mag 9 that my PS is not working correctly and I'm still having problems just balancing the 2 out.
Before anyone starts, I know the mag 5 isnt powerfull enough to balance with the mag 9. So I ordered another mag 5 and will have 2 returns. I have ball values on each pump in case I need to adjust the flow. I was just goin to get a mag 7 for my PS (which is whats recommended) but then I wouldnt have any use for my mag 5 and Its cheaper for me to get another mag 5 and have 2 returns. I also think this will be good for the flow. in my tank
Unfortantely my PS is alittle too big for my sump and the fit in the pic fits perfect in my stand.
Will that work....I was thinking of any other way but this seems to be the best solution.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	filterflow_650.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	21.7 KB
ID:	2231   Click image for larger version

Name:	filterflow_136.jpg
Views:	140
Size:	21.7 KB
ID:	2232  

__________________

__________________
check my site out --> www.coppernreef.com
pearsont74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2005, 01:07 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St Petersburg Fl
Posts: 603
Send a message via AIM to pearsont74 Send a message via Yahoo to pearsont74
sorry...added the pic twice and now it doesnt allow me to remove it
__________________

__________________
check my site out --> www.coppernreef.com
pearsont74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2005, 01:47 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
your thinking of taking water from a sump via a PS PH and expect it to keep up with the flow???
There are 2 tanks/sumps here? If that is the case it will not work.
1- you need a mag 7 or a ph that is rated the same to have the skimmer work properly.
There is no way a skimmer is going to keep up with the flow need. When water gets pumped into the skimmer is slows the flow down.
I would say you need to go back to the drawing board
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2005, 02:03 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St Petersburg Fl
Posts: 603
Send a message via AIM to pearsont74 Send a message via Yahoo to pearsont74
Dude....there is no powerhead in my pic.
The mag 9 is powering the skimmer and the 2 mag 5 will be my return....I think that only issue ill have is getting it all adjusted correctly
__________________
check my site out --> www.coppernreef.com
pearsont74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2005, 02:13 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
Dude it still won't work....
pump/power head same thing..
Your using 2 tanks right!!!
What happens if the pump on the skimmer craps out... What happens if the pump on the return craps out at different times.. I see floods happening with this set up.
IMO a mag 9 is too much for that skimmer. Is it a reef devil skimmer? If so I have 2 and you can not over power them and expect them to work properly.
Just trying to give you some help with your question...
I still say go back to the drawing board..
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2005, 02:22 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rockland, Ontario
Posts: 1,439
For this system to work, IMO, you should join the two buckets with, at least, a 2 inch pipe. This way, if your return pump fails, and it happens, then your skimmer will skim itself to death and you will not end up with a major flood.

I also agree with seaham, the skimmer pump will not be able tio keep up with the return pump, and you are looking at potential flood issues. Why chance it? Play it safe and truly enjoy your tank and fishies.

8)
__________________
Serge

Vote Here for Aquarium Advice
Serge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2005, 02:41 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 3,968
You will not get it balanced since the flow of pumps isn't as constant as we would like. This is doomed. Return from the second tank back into the first by an overflow and return to the show tank from the first.
__________________
Bearfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2005, 02:49 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St Petersburg Fl
Posts: 603
Send a message via AIM to pearsont74 Send a message via Yahoo to pearsont74
well...i honestly dont know what other option i have. I want to stay away from drilling my sump but i guess i'll have to...urggg
The skimmer is abit too big to fit into my sump plus its doesnt make since to have the output of ur skimmer go back into your sump with which your pulling water from to skimmer.
I wonder if I can make sometype of overflow box incase the skimmer pump fails...that way water will still flow to the other sump.
any suggestion with how to set up with the existing equipment i have?
I have a maxi-reef sump with 1" overflow
mag 9
mag 5 (another coming but I may return if I dont or cant use it)
and the ETSS reef devil skimmer.
I really dont want to have to buy alot of extra stuff....I've already spent alot and dont want to end up with unused equipment.
__________________
check my site out --> www.coppernreef.com
pearsont74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 07:15 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Salttanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, TX.
Posts: 1,297
Here is a diagram I found on inlandreef.com that has a sump with a refugium tied in. I haven't experienced this personally, but it may be worth looking at to prevent any disasters. HTH

Mike
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	refugium_plumb.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	72.8 KB
ID:	2261  
__________________
Salttanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 07:28 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St Petersburg Fl
Posts: 603
Send a message via AIM to pearsont74 Send a message via Yahoo to pearsont74
yeah...the only issue is the 10 gal is a glass tank....drilling that many be a pain.
I think I will see if i can get the skimmer in the sump and take out the 10 gal or do a extrenal skimmer.
I was thinking of making a overflow box between the 2 sumps.
in the long run I make sell the sump alone and buy a long tank to use as my sump and put in dividers.
__________________

__________________
check my site out --> www.coppernreef.com
pearsont74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what does everyone do for work? hemmer Aquaria Off-Topic 112 09-19-2007 11:19 AM
which one will work better ? FloridaNewbie Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 8 11-26-2006 03:04 AM
will this work? patagonia Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 11-05-2005 09:06 AM
Will this work.... SquishyFish Freshwater & Brackish - Coldwater, Native Fish & Ponds 2 05-06-2004 09:13 AM
Would it work? Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 02-10-2004 10:15 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.