Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-16-2004, 10:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: dayton ohio
Posts: 427
wiring question

alright i bought a mogul base from hellolights, which only has black and white wires, and i just got the correct chords for my ballast from Darin today (thanks darin for the fast delivery). the problem is that the new chord has a ground wire (green) on it how do i wire it to my mogul?

thanks for the help

mark
__________________

__________________
ohio reefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 10:37 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Washington
Posts: 776
Hmm.. I dunno but I can do some reaserch to try to help ya out
__________________

__________________
SaltwaterTeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 10:38 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: ohio
Posts: 440
you wire it to the reflector I beleive since the reflector is grounded to the ballast
__________________
kidkameleon3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 11:05 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: kalamazoo, mi
Posts: 108
with the green wire you can screw it to the reflector or any piece of metal. and that will ground the unit
__________________
220 gal rr
jerejohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 11:09 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Detroit MI
Posts: 440
I thought you wire the ground to the ground wire in the power cord.
My ballast only has 5 wires, a black white and green for the power cord, and 2 reds that go to the mogul.
__________________
125 gallon saltwater: 55gal sump, 4 Blue-Green Chromis, Purple Tang, True Perc, Firefish, Royal Gramma, 5 Ricordea, Bubble Coral, 15 Pulsing Xenia, Green Star Polyps, Deresa clam, Green-Tip Torch Coral (about 11 "heads"!), Orange Montipora Cap, Purple M. Digitata, Green Slimer Acro. Yongei, 3 Orange M. Digitata, Pink&Green Acro. Millepora
dansemacabre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 11:38 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 869
Send a message via ICQ to jackdp
Be more specific about what you are wiring. You definitely do not attach a ground to the reflector, the reflector is not grounded unless you have grounded it. The only ground you have near an aquarium is the ground in your outlet (or a cold water pipe if there is one nearby), or a steel grounding rod driven 6ft into the earth. I have the hellolights electronic ballast and reflector/socket setup and the wiring is as follows...from the socket...black and white wire attach to 2 yellow wires coming out of the ballast. From the ballast is a black, white and green...these wires go to the plug/outlet...black is one blade, white the other blade and green the ground or rounded prong. If you have any other questions I would contact Hellolights or whoever made/sold your ballast. You get it wired wrong and especially grounded wrong and death could result.
__________________
Brad C.
jackdp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 08:43 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
When I built my canopy, I made one ground point for the entire unit. Basically everything was grounded to the the fluorescent ballast. I also made an extra ground point to the reflector since fluorescent reflectors must be grounded in order for the bulbs to fire properly. I then grounded the ballast and reflector by attaching the green conductor of the power cords to it.
__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 08:51 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 869
Send a message via ICQ to jackdp
I've never heard that the reflector has to be grounded for the lamp to fire? My hellolights setup never mentions this...is this something particular to another brand of ballast?
__________________
Brad C.
jackdp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 09:00 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
Quote:
I've never heard that the reflector has to be grounded for the lamp to fire?
http://members.misty.com/don/f-lamp.html#wgf

Rather than explain it, I'll let you read it. If you get a change, read the entire page. Lots of good information there.

Quote:
My hellolights setup never mentions this
Hellolights is definitely not an authoritative source of information. Everytime I have called to check on an order, it is like they have 12 yr olds working the phones...
__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 10:12 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Crete Illinois
Posts: 656
Quote:
from the socket...black and white wire attach to 2 yellow wires coming out of the ballast. From the ballast is a black, white and green...these wires go to the plug/outlet...black is one blade, white the other blade and green the ground or rounded prong. If you have any other questions I would contact Hellolights or whoever made/sold your ballast. You get it wired wrong and especially grounded wrong and death could result.

For wiring on your mogul base. The two wires coming from the ballast marked "lamp" in most cases will be connected, one to the shell of the base and the other to the center of the base. If the wires are marked "lamp" and "Common", then the common will go to the shell (or the outside part of the base).

As for grounding, unless the reflector is ("bonded") to your system ground, connecting the green ground wire to the reflector will do nothing.

Now if the ballast comes with 2 grounding wires, one for the ballast supply and one for the base and (or) reflector, then connect it to the shield and it will be grounded through the ballast.

As for the "plug"...your supply for the ballast will probably have 3 wires. Green (ground), Black (hot), and White (neutral). If you haven't noticed this already, most outlets today have three holes in them. Round one is for ground, a skinny blade and a wide blade.

The skinny blade is for the Black wire (hot)
The wide blade is the White wire (neutral)

It is very important to connect them this way. Your electrical system in your house is connected with the White wires (neutral) connected to Earth ground (ground rod outside your house.) This in essence sets up polarity in your electrical system. You should observe this when connecting your stuff to the outlets.

I hope this helps. I hope I did not confuse anyone. This is my living. At least I can help in that respect. If you need anymore information I will be glad to help.

Sparky
__________________

__________________
Sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring VHO end cap question DOLPH General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 13 03-20-2007 01:47 AM
MH wiring ?? whitetiprs DIY Projects 9 02-05-2006 12:17 AM
PC wiring booker DIY Projects 5 11-22-2004 05:06 PM
MH wiring question MT79 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 10-15-2004 06:41 PM
ah supply wiring question tyler Saltwater Reef Aquaria 17 03-05-2003 01:22 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.