Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-07-2006, 11:11 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

Send a message via AIM to tcarola154
Yellow tang

Ok so im kinda new to saltwater fish- Ive had my percula and damsel for about 2 months now... and well you know how things go, theres two little one inch fish in a 45 gallon tank so I wanted to get something big and bright to make it more interesting. So I bought a yellow tang and had it in a 10 gallon QT for about 2 weeks. I introduced him today and for most of the day he was his normal solid yellow color but I noticed a few hours ago he started turning a pale yellow on his underbody. Is this normal for adjusting to a new tank (i dont remember it happening when i first brought him home) or should I be concerned? The guy at the local pet store said it could just be from some stress and advised me to turn off the light and leave him alone for a while. Is this the right course of action?

Old 01-08-2006, 12:05 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular

My yellow tang does this each night when the lights go off. when they come back on he goes back to the dark yellow again.

Old 01-08-2006, 01:15 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak

A 45 gallon tank is woefully undersized for a yellow tang. A two week QT period for a tang...or any fish for that matter...is far too short. You might as well have added him to the main tank.

With the chastising aside I would keep an eye on him and make sure he is eating. Tangs need a lot of veggies in their diet. You could try soaking it's food in garlic to stimulate appetite and boost immunity.

Hope you don't have an ich breakout.
Old 01-08-2006, 01:42 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular