Yellowtail coris wrasse- help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DI68

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi

I am a beginner, research (too much out there) and have just started adding fish and tell all LFS my set up ( 169 litres...hard and soft corals incl bubble anemone,2 wavemakers, DOC skimmer, phosphate reactor, sump) and newly purchased fish under advice as being reef friendly and compatible ie blue tang, sailfin, dotty back, 2 clarke clowns and yellow mimic which had a spot and died the 2nd day)

I have today bought what turns out to be a yellowtail coris wrasse and after researching, it has teeth, is apparently NOT reef friendly even though I asked for reef friendly fish ( is this because it disrupts rocks or eats corals? ) it eats snails, worms- good and bad and crabs ( I have a small hitch hiker ) and can die of starvation as it needs to be fed 3x daily. The LFS only told me they like to feed off rocks which was fine but I panicked when it buried itself under the sand and didn't resurface- hence the research.

What do I do? It should be in a minimum tank size of 100 gals ie twice the current size and will it eat my corals? Has anyone else kept one in a set up like mine with no problems? Maybe I need to return it to the LFS? It's so attractive I will be disappointed but need to look after the reef tank as a whole as well as my new friend.:confused:

Sounds like your LFS has been giving you some bad advice for sure :( neither of those tangs are suited to your tank size and the coris wrasse will eat your corals and inverts. Does that work out to 40g? Is it a 4ft tank? I have less fish than that in my 55g (220litres) if you plan a healthy reef then I suggest returning it for a reef safe wrasse or some other lovely small fish :)