Yet Another Cycling Question?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jwright

Aquarium Advice Regular
I am new to the Salt water Hobby, although I have had fresh water for many years. This is a great site, tons of valuable information here.

I was wondering if anyone has used the product Cycle, during the cycling of a new salt water tank. My concern is that I have either Stalled or prevented my tank from actually cycling at all. The tank has been up and running for almost 5 weeks, ammonia and nitrites have not budged from 0 at all.

I am planning on just letting it run a few more weeks. I am afraid to even add fish after even that amount of time, if I havent seen any movement in the ammonia or nitrites.

thanks in advance

The tank is 130 gallons. For filtration I am running 2 magnum 350 canister filters and a fluval 403 canister filter. The tank currently has 50 lbs of Live Rock (live rock has been in the tank the whole time) with a marine sand crushed coral substrate (first mistake), as well as a healthy brown algae bloom (minor annoyance).

Products like Cycle are IME a waste of the bottle they where packaged in.

As far as not getting an ammonia or nitrite reading, it could be the rock you purchased was that well cured of the smaller amount may not have been sufficient to get the cycle started. Do you/did you ever get a nitrate reading? If that is present still, the cycle may have happend and you just missed it. :wink: Could be the test kits as well.

If you have never had a reading on any of the nitrogens, I would personally play safe and toss in a raw cocktail shrimp (or 2 considering the tank size) and run through the process to be absolutely sure you have a strong biological filter in place before adding animals.

What type of tank will this be FOWLR or reef?

Cheers
Steve