yet another lighting question......

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rabbydab

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I would like to upgrade my lighting on my tanks. I have currently the 32 watt smartlite with ballast on my 18 gallon and the 65 watt smartlite with ballast on my 30 gallon. sooner or later i would like to get corals. I have eclipse hoods on both tanks and I would like any suggestions you have to fix my lighting.
Thanks
Oh.... and when you reply can you make it as basic as possible.... i'm still learning.. :oops: thanks

I'm not familiar with either tank size. Can you give the tank measurements? I know what a 30g is but was not aware of an Eclipse hood for a 36" tank. Is it possible that it's a 29 gal? (30") I run two 65w smartlites on my 20 long coral tanks (soft corals only). For a 29, due to the extra depth, I'd say you would need three 65 watt tubes. I don't think you'll be able to keep the Eclipse on that tank. That should allow you to keep most of the soft corals and maybe some of the hard corals with lower light requirements. Tell us more about your tanks and what you would like to keep. Then we can give a more specific answer and better help you.
Logan J

The measurements of my 30 (?) gallon tank is 30"w x 20"h x 12.5"d. And my 18 gallon is 20"w x 16"h x 10" d.

oh yeah.... I wanted to keep soft corals, and anenomes and someday down the road I would like to try hard corals too.

That sounds like a standard 29 and a 20 high. That's what they're called...may not be the exact water volume though. Here's my guess...bear in mind that lighting is a very controversial subject and you'll probably get several different opinions :) .
Soft corals:
20g-2x65w 50/50 PC or 1x65w 10000k and 1x65w actinic.
29g-3x65w 50/50 PC or 1 of each type and run the actinic on a separate ballast for a dusk/dawn effect.

Hard corals/anemones: