So whats your favorite LFS?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nejsux

Aquarium Advice Activist
Anyone in Long Island, or wherever else near for that matter, where do you shop? How's the prices? the service?

Long Island Shops

Hello, I am still pretty new at this, but after going to about 12 stores on the Island, I have narrowed them done to three that I will buy from.
1st is Magic Isle in Centereach. They have the a pretty small selection, although it seems to be the healthist! Their prices are fair.

2nd is Country Critters in Patchouge... They have a great/BIG selection of SW Fish and corals. They are very knowledgable and helpful. There prices are slightly high, and sometimes I am not impressed with the quaility of fish.

The 3rd is in Hicksville( its on Old county rd, right before the wantagh parkway)... trying to remember the name.... They have a decent selection, decent prices and nice fish.
Enjoy, LA

I'm from Nassau, and I haven't been to the first two orion mentioned, but the third one is great. It looks sort of like a hole in the wall, but it's actually pretty big and I can't remember seeing a sick fish there. The owner is usually there and very knowledgeable. Godd FW plants, too. I think it's called Tropical Showcase, but I'm not sure. It's windows are painted with a mural of tropical fish, and its on the North side of the road if anyone wants to check it out.

Another decent place is Pets Warehouse in Copaigue on Sunrise Highway. Their selection is huge, but seasonal. They haven't had as much as usual in recent cold months. They also have a good selection of FW plants. They also sell some used equipment, for other cheapos like me. I got my hood for a 30L there for $10. :) You can check out their website and see what they have, although I've personally never ordered online from them.