Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > Regional Forums > Southwest & California
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-03-2010, 08:51 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Osage_Winter View Post
Anywhere near Henderson?

Henderson is about 20 min away from me. I live more on the northern side. Funny thing is I have a class at the CSN Henderson campus so I'm there once a week lol.
__________________

__________________
Macgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 11:05 PM   #12
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macgirl View Post
Henderson is about 20 min away from me. I live more on the northern side. Funny thing is I have a class at the CSN Henderson campus so I'm there once a week lol.
Small world; how experienced are you with aquariums and maitenance?

Can you get to the 215 and St. Rose?
__________________

__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 11:19 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Osage_Winter View Post
Small world; how experienced are you with aquariums and maitenance?

Can you get to the 215 and St. Rose?
I have been doing this for about 8 months, I know a good amount about water changes, and maintaining a filter. I can tell you right off the bat that the first thing you wanna do is get a Python for your weekly water changes. I used to have one of those crappy top fin ones from PetSmart which was a pain in the butt. Water would be EVERYWHERE! I finally cracked and payed $25 for a Python on Amazon.com, and it helped to eliminate the water spillage on the floor. What are you having problems with? Yes I can get to 215 and St.Rose.
__________________
Macgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 11:34 PM   #14
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macgirl View Post
I have been doing this for about 8 months, I know a good amount about water changes, and maintaining a filter. I can tell you right off the bat that the first thing you wanna do is get a Python for your weekly water changes. I used to have one of those crappy top fin ones from PetSmart which was a pain in the butt. Water would be EVERYWHERE! I finally cracked and payed $25 for a Python on Amazon.com, and it helped to eliminate the water spillage on the floor.
I purchasd the Top Fin from the PetSmart on St. Rose and Maryland...

Quote:
What are you having problems with? Yes I can get to 215 and St.Rose.
My goldfish tank just never seems to get super-clear, and I can't seem to kick start a cycle and the tank's been running since around September...

Then, there's the issue of the water changes, which are wrecking our house we just bought -- too much to go into here...
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 11:57 PM   #15
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macgirl View Post
I have been doing this for about 8 months, I know a good amount about water changes, and maintaining a filter. I can tell you right off the bat that the first thing you wanna do is get a Python for your weekly water changes. I used to have one of those crappy top fin ones from PetSmart which was a pain in the butt. Water would be EVERYWHERE! I finally cracked and payed $25 for a Python on Amazon.com, and it helped to eliminate the water spillage on the floor. What are you having problems with? Yes I can get to 215 and St.Rose.
By the way...

Your real name, by any random wild chance, wouldn't be "Leah," would it?
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 01:52 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 31
When you got your tank did you put the gold fish in there immediately? If you did it's a common mistake the a lot of tank owners do. I did the same thing when I first got my fish. Usually when you start up a new tank you are suppose to let it cycle for about 2-3 months so the bacteria can build up enough to be able to handle the bio load of the fish. Goldfish unfortunately are fish that poop A LOT so your tank may just be having a hard time trying to start a cycle if it hasn't fully been cycled itself yet, which is where the problem lies. I think something like this is just something you are going to have to ride out. If you did cycle your tank than there are a few other factors that have to be looked into such as filtration, and whether or not you use gravel or sand. Stop using the Top Fin syphon and get a Pyton asap. With the Python there is no hauling of the bucket to and from the bathroom or kitchen, or putting your mouth at the end of the hose to syphon the water out. Water will never touch your floor again with one of these things. Here is a link to how it works if you have no looked this up already. No Spill Clean & Fill Python Productss Watch the video in the link. Believe I know it's costly, but don't buy it in a store. I am one of the cheapest persons you will ever meet, and I refuse to pay full retail price for anything. I believe the reg asking price for one of these things is around $60. I got mine on Amazon.com for $25. It took me a few months of being stubborn to get one, but it's all worth it in the end. And nope my name is not Leah, it's Kenyata. A mouthful right?
__________________
Macgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 02:04 AM   #17
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macgirl View Post
When you got your tank did you put the gold fish in there immediately? If you did it's a common mistake the a lot of tank owners do. I did the same thing when I first got my fish. Usually when you start up a new tank you are suppose to let it cycle for about 2-3 months so the bacteria can build up enough to be able to handle the bio load of the fish. Goldfish unfortunately are fish that poop A LOT so your tank may just be having a hard time trying to start a cycle if it hasn't fully been cycled itself yet, which is where the problem lies.
*Sigh*Big Breath***

Those who have been following my atrociously long winded threads on here will tell you my history regarding the cycling and all that -- way too much to go into right now. Suffice to say, I did not add the goldies right away...the tank sat with a filter running on it for at least a month, maybe three weeks until I tested the water with a strip kit from Jungle, and just about everything read "Safe"...we then started with two fancy goldies, and then added the third some time later.

Quote:
I think something like this is just something you are going to have to ride out. If you did cycle your tank than there are a few other factors that have to be looked into such as filtration, and whether or not you use gravel or sand.
I've been down this long road too -- I did upgrade my filtration after being told to numerous times based on my tank's bioload, and so I ditched a small Aqueon I had supplementing my larger one with an AquaClear 110, which I was told was the best HOB on the market. So, if you check my signature's stats, you'll see that I have two largish power HOBs running, making for a combined gallons per hour rate of 800 gallons plus, if the marketing stats are right. I am using decorative gravel, not sand, for substrate.

Quote:
Stop using the Top Fin syphon and get a Pyton asap. With the Python there is no hauling of the bucket to and from the bathroom or kitchen, or putting your mouth at the end of the hose to syphon the water out. Water will never touch your floor again with one of these things. Here is a link to how it works if you have no looked this up already. No Spill Clean & Fill Python Productss Watch the video in the link. Believe I know it's costly, but don't buy it in a store. I am one of the cheapest persons you will ever meet, and I refuse to pay full retail price for anything. I believe the reg asking price for one of these things is around $60. I got mine on Amazon.com for $25. It took me a few months of being stubborn to get one, but it's all worth it in the end.
The water changes have been the hardest thing for us since starting this aquarium...

Quote:
And nope my name is not Leah, it's Kenyata. A mouthful right?
Just asked because I recently interviewed someone for a position at my magazine, and her email address had a reference to "fish" in it...and I thought it would be too small a world if someone I interviewed in Vegas was on this site, based on the hobby topic, etc etc etc...

That would have been too weird...

How long have you been in Vegas? Originally from?
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 02:18 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 31
The water changes were the biggest pain in the butt for me too. I learned to just suction around the plants instead of going all the way down into the gravel. I also now keep live plants in my tank, so it's much easier dealing with rooted plants. Do you have any driftwood or anything like that in your tank?

I have been in Vegas since I was 3 years old, that I've been here 21 years...way to long haha. I am originally from Louisiana. How about you? How long have you been here?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Osage_Winter View Post
*Sigh*Big Breath***

Those who have been following my atrociously long winded threads on here will tell you my history regarding the cycling and all that -- way too much to go into right now. Suffice to say, I did not add the goldies right away...the tank sat with a filter running on it for at least a month, maybe three weeks until I tested the water with a strip kit from Jungle, and just about everything read "Safe"...we then started with two fancy goldies, and then added the third some time later.



I've been down this long road too -- I did upgrade my filtration after being told to numerous times based on my tank's bioload, and so I ditched a small Aqueon I had supplementing my larger one with an AquaClear 110, which I was told was the best HOB on the market. So, if you check my signature's stats, you'll see that I have two largish power HOBs running, making for a combined gallons per hour rate of 800 gallons plus, if the marketing stats are right. I am using decorative gravel, not sand, for substrate.



The water changes have been the hardest thing for us since starting this aquarium...



Just asked because I recently interviewed someone for a position at my magazine, and her email address had a reference to "fish" in it...and I thought it would be too small a world if someone I interviewed in Vegas was on this site, based on the hobby topic, etc etc etc...

That would have been too weird...

How long have you been in Vegas? Originally from?
__________________
Macgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 02:21 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 31
Sorry I also forgot to ask how many times you feed your fish a day? I used to feed mine twice a day because I spoiled them haha. But the bioload at the end of the week was outrageous! I cut them down to once a day, and it made a huge difference with how much poop was at the bottom of the tank. Also once every other week I skip a day of feeding to cleanse out their systems. Hope your still with me here.
__________________
Macgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 04:06 AM   #20
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macgirl View Post
The water changes were the biggest pain in the butt for me too. I learned to just suction around the plants instead of going all the way down into the gravel. I also now keep live plants in my tank, so it's much easier dealing with rooted plants. Do you have any driftwood or anything like that in your tank?
No, no driftwood. I'm all artificially planted and decorated.

Quote:
I have been in Vegas since I was 3 years old, that I've been here 21 years...way to long haha. I am originally from Louisiana. How about you? How long have you been here?
I am originally from New York, been here around six or so years, but been vacationing out here since I was a little tyke...it was my parents' favorite place to come because they were gamblers. They came out here first when my dad retired and sold his furniture business in New York; my dad has since passed away at Kindred Hospital (across the street from Desert Springs on Flamingo -- the absolute WORST medical facility here, and most suck) but my mom is still here; ironically, my wife's father is now very very sick with lung cancer and a slew of other complications and he's at Desert Springs, where I actually met my wife in the ICU waiting room when our two fathers were having heart surgery...can you believe that circle of fate?
__________________

__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone in the northern nevada area ? Bert B Northwest & Mountain States 7 08-31-2014 12:54 AM
Glub-glub from Nevada HappysMom Member Introductions 1 03-30-2009 11:10 PM
Welcome to the Nevada regional forum CountZero Northwest & Mountain States 0 09-12-2003 05:08 PM
Re: Nevada Regional Forum CountZero Forum Admin & Announcements 1 09-12-2003 09:46 AM
Northern Nevada Marine Keepers CountZero Southwest & California 3 09-10-2003 10:48 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.