Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-02-2013, 06:19 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
125g on floor

hello everybody I'm new here my first post. Well I found this site trying to figure out if it's a great ideal to put my 125g tank on the floor under my TV . With a maybe 4 to 6 inch high platform under the tank . My tank is behind me while watching tv an I hate it and there is nowhere else to put it with a view while watching tv . Has anybody try this?
__________________

__________________
procell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 06:56 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Cynic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,272
It's not a bad idea however I'd avoid skittish fish due to the low height of the tank.

There is the obvious issue of an increased amount of electrical cabling near the tank so you'll need to be careful when doing water changes.

Also depending on whether or not you have other pets the accessible height could be a concern.
__________________

__________________
Cynic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 07:55 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,144
I would avoid any chairs in wheels, anything that could "roll " into the tank..
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 09:49 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
some good points thanks for the input now what to do what to do lol . I love big tanks so alittle 20g next to tv wouldn't make me happy so I'll may try it .thanks again
__________________
procell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 02:26 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
allysonwonderland's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 87
If you just have a simple, manual vacuum, it will be hard to do water changes! If you have a more high-tech one then it may not be an issue, I'm not sure.
__________________
allysonwonderland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 02:41 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Cynic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,272
Quote:
Originally Posted by allysonwonderland View Post
If you just have a simple, manual vacuum, it will be hard to do water changes! If you have a more high-tech one then it may not be an issue, I'm not sure.
Very good point, the size of the tank may negate this but it is something to consider
__________________

__________________
Cynic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×