150 gallon semi-aggressive freshwater build

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rigo_s197

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello guys, I’m making the move and I’m building a 150 gallon freshwater semi-aggressive tank. These are the fish I have chosen up to now African butterfly fish
Leaf fish?
Leopard ctenopoma
Needle nose gar
Peacock Eel
False Zebra Pleco
Red tail shark
Now, any tips, anything I can get from any of these fish I will greatly appreciate, this is my first time going semi aggressive right now I have a 55 gallon planted community tank I’ve had for about 5 years, any input I can get I’ll greatly appreciate, thanks!

You have listed many fish on your wish list that are rarely discussed on AA. In particular:
African Leaf fish, Spotted Climbing Perch, Needle Nose Gar, Peacock Eel and the False Zebra Pleco. You have the potential to have a tank that is somewhat unique.
Full disclosure, I've not kept any of the listed fish, but I do have a little knowledge about them.
The Leaf fish, Climbing Perch and Gar are not semi-aggressive, but are true ambush predators. On the bright side they are cool looking fish that don't grow very big. Ambush predators don't usually tolorate
others of their own kind. I've seen tanks where several Gars were kept together. I'm definitely not your go to guy reference Eels, but believe the particular one you want is a good community species, that can grow relatively large. I believe the noted False Zebra Pleco is a typical wood knawer. It's a much better buy than the $200 it would take to buy a true Zebra.