29L

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ld123

Aquarium Advice Freak
Ow many endler guppies could I keep in a 29L tank?

Would they be ok with a Cory and an oto?

15-20 is a bit ambitious! I know they are small, but in a 6 gallon, they wouldn't have any room to swim :/ I'm no expert, but I have kept them before. I had two in a 3 gallon and they were okay :) So maybe go with 5 or 6? Not sure though, you'd have to wait for someone with a bit more knowledge :)

Not sure about the oto/cory, but a Nerite Snail would be amazing for algae eating if thats what you want the fish for? I have two and they're amazing! :D

Hope I helped! :fish2:

Oh and obviously because they're livebearers, they will have babies like crazy if you keep males and females. If you dont want babies get only males because females can store sperm so could have babiies even after you've bought them.

If you want babies then you'll want to get about 2 or 3 females for every male. So probably 2 males and 4-6 females. You'll need somewhere to get rid of the babes to or you'll be quickly overstocked. You could ask at your LFS if they'd accept them for store credit/other fish/money. Or just keep them and get a bigger tank! ;)

:fish2:

I am considering just males but I don't know how many

Like I said, I'd stick with 5 or 6. To me that seems like a pretty safe number. You can always add a few more if it looks really empty and the parameters are okay - as in 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites and 5-40 nitrates.
That reminds me, is it cycled? And have you been adding a source of ammonia to stop the BB from dying off? :)

Yes it is cycled but had an ammonia spike which I have lowed to 0.25 but I am thinkin of re homing my 5 guppies and getting endlers as I think they will suit this tank size better?