46 gallon bow front ph is out the roof

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MossyOakMama

Aquarium Advice Activist
Freshwater aquarium been set up for almost 3 weeks. Everything else is great but ph is off the chart!!! Help I done a small water change. I know it has to cycle. Any advice would be great. I put 3 plants n there but they r now gone. I have marineland penguin 350 filter. Please again help.

Nitrate -0
Nitrite- 0
Hardness- 0
Chlorine- 0
Alkalinity- 300 ppm
Ph- 8.4
Just pulled water test.

Is that your tank or your tap? Nitrates should never be at 0 ppm except in a limited number of circumstances.

Sounds like my water. You can either fight it with DW, or work around it. Many fish can adapt to that high of a pH.

Ok. I am a newbie. DW?? I have a 10 gallon set up and it's doing great. Took me a while to get the water clear. But I ck it and the numbers r great. My 46 gallon is still on the dull looking. Got filters in and running 24/7. I read turn the heater up and leave the light on. I am not real
Sure about that.
In my 10 gal I have a not real sure with the correct names
Tetras
Guppy
Sucker
Shrimp
I just don't want them to die. So I will let this one run for a month r so. :(

I have stability to put in it also oh lower. When setting up my 10 gal. I was told by local pet store to put distilled water in it when I first started it up. Does this help?

DW usually means Driftwood. It can reduce your ph slightly, just like crushed coral can usually raise your ph. And your fish appreciate some natural decor, too.

Yeah. There's some really nice driftwood you can buy online, but if you don't feel comfortable with that there's ways to find and sanitize your own. If you're a beginner though, it may be easier to buy online or ask your local fish store where you can buy some nearby. (y)