80g freshwater tank in a school- need help choosing appropriate fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

little_ninja

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi there, I'm new to the forum but I was hoping that there is someone on here that can help me.

I currently have two tanks freshwater tanks set up at home so I have some experience.

Recently I was asked to look after the 80g tank at the school I am currently volunteering for.

Before Christmas the water was so green that we were unable to see the fish at all, so I cleaned the tank
- 100% water change
-relocated the fish to my tank at home
- set up and allowed the tank to cycle (fish less)
Tank info: gravel bottom, lots of hiding places

So now were are looking to replace the fish instead of returning the previous fish
That's where my real questions come in.

Questions:
#1- when should I start putting fish back into the tank
#2- how many fish should be placed in the tank (80g)
#3- what kind of fish will be okay in the tank our school has students in early education (4 year olds) to grade nine as well as special needs students. I only say this as further information to use when recommending fish because the glass will be tapped on, so I need fish that won't be to sensitive to that kind of treatment

we would like to have as many fish as possible without overcrowding, the more colourful the better, schooling fish are preferred also something unique like shrimp or crayfish something the students have never seen before

Any and all advice or input is appreciated