A tank full of weirdlings...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tyrel

Aquarium Advice Regular
I have always been attracted to the exotic and unusual, and I have been considering setting my old 20 gallon back up.

I quickly sketched out a tanks plan:

-Sand bottom
-bogwood/driftwood
-a couple smooth rocks
-lightly planted

Then I decided on some fish that I have always longed to have:

-Banjo cats
-Glass cats
-African butterfly

By this point I was getting excited. But I still have some things to work out:

I am by no means an expert fish keeper. I had trouble with whiptail cats while tending my previous tank. I could'nt seem to keep them alive. Meanwhile, my Senegal bicher and Raphael striped catfish were thriving.

How hardy are the Fish i picked out, compared to the ones i had in my previous tank?

Then I came to the subject of the number of fish I could stick in there. I would just have one African butterfly of course. But how many banjo cats and glass cats could comfortably live in there? And would the Butterfly make a quick snack of the glass cats?

I would love to get back into the hobby again, any help you guys could give me would be awesome.

In a 20G, size is a bit of a limiting factor when it comes to the glass and banjo cats. Both of these fish grow to 6" or so. I'd have said get one or the other, but glass cats work best in a school since they're a social fish. So, I would probably opt for just one banjo cat out of those two species.