Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-31-2009, 09:46 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: DC
Posts: 27
Adding Fish to Tank

I'm almost at the end of my fishless cycle (fingers crossed, please) and I was wondering about the technique for adding fish.

In the "old days" we took the bag from the fish store and set it in the tank water for a while so that the water temp in the bag would equal the water temp in the tank. When the temp was the same, we dumped the entire contents of the bag - water and fish - into the tank.

Is this still the way to do it? By the time I add fish I will have spent 4 weeks setting up my tank and I DO NOT want to eff it up and have to start over.

TIA!
__________________

__________________
Sibley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 10:01 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
TheNamelessPoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sibley View Post
I'm almost at the end of my fishless cycle (fingers crossed, please) and I was wondering about the technique for adding fish.

In the "old days" we took the bag from the fish store and set it in the tank water for a while so that the water temp in the bag would equal the water temp in the tank. When the temp was the same, we dumped the entire contents of the bag - water and fish - into the tank.

Is this still the way to do it? By the time I add fish I will have spent 4 weeks setting up my tank and I DO NOT want to eff it up and have to start over.

TIA!
I usualy do just what you noted with eth bag. but before I put them in I add about 1 cup of water to the bag FROM THE TANK, and let it sit for about another 20-30 minutes... this way the fish gets a littel more aclimated to the water

congrats on the near cycle finish
__________________

__________________
Disaster struck!!! must rebuild
Starting with 30 Gallon tank

TheNamelessPoet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 10:12 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
fearlessfisch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 688
Float the bag for a little while to equalize temperature. Then gradually add water from the tank to the bag, giving fish time to acclimate after each addition.

When fish is ready, pour him into a net and then transfer to tank. Many fish stores have parasites or diseases in their water, and you do not want to run the risk of dumping those into your tank.
__________________
joy to the fishes in the deep blue sea
________________________________
55, 30, 30, 20, 10, and 10-gal. freshwater tropical tanks
fearlessfisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 10:20 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 3,287
Some fish stores use antibiotics regularly and if you dump that in the tank it could kill your cycle.
__________________
joy13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 10:29 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
TheNamelessPoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by fearlessfisch View Post
Float the bag for a little while to equalize temperature. Then gradually add water from the tank to the bag, giving fish time to acclimate after each addition.

When fish is ready, pour him into a net and then transfer to tank. Many fish stores have parasites or diseases in their water, and you do not want to run the risk of dumping those into your tank.
hmm... never thought of that... probably how I got ick
Quote:
Originally Posted by joy13 View Post
Some fish stores use antibiotics regularly and if you dump that in the tank it could kill your cycle.
good point
__________________
Disaster struck!!! must rebuild
Starting with 30 Gallon tank

TheNamelessPoet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 10:36 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,067
fearless nailed it on the head. That is the exact method I have been using for years with no problems. I would not trust the LFS's water. I usually dump the bag out into my net, over a bucket then quickly add the fish to the QT tank. It sounds like that would stress the fish out, and yes it does, but its better than killing off all your other livestock. I QT my new additions in my 10g for at least 2 weeks, sometimes longer if something doesn't look right.
__________________

__________________
meegosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding fish to an existing tank magpie58 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 08-05-2007 10:09 PM
Adding fish to new tank zenkatydid Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 10-27-2006 07:43 AM
adding fish to the cycling tank? kaz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 06-18-2006 08:10 PM
adding more fish to my tank ryan Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 03-15-2006 10:24 AM
Adding fish into tank that had fish that moved out? @HOME Cichlid Discussion 5 02-14-2004 10:10 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.